StreetSmart

StreetSmart

von StreetSmart

Wer verwendet StreetSmart?

Zu den Branchen, die StreetSmart nutzen, zählen Getränkehandel, Lieferservices, häusliche Gesundheitsfürsorge, Finanzen und Versicherung, HLK, Landschaftsbau, Gebäudetechnik, Sicherheit und Regierung.

Was ist StreetSmart?

StreetSmart bietet für Unternehmen mit 50 bis 5.000 mobilen Angestellten schlüsselfertige Lösungen für das mobile Personalmanagement. Zu den Pauschalpreisen gehören unbegrenzte administrative Nutzer*innen und eine vielseitige App für Auftragsverwaltung, mobile Formulare, Arbeitszeittabellen, Reisekostenerstattungen, GPS-Dienste und Kundenengagementsfunktionen. 10.000 Unternehmen vertrauen im Außendienst täglich auf diese Lösung, um die Produktivität zu steigern, die Betriebskosten zu senken, Servicerisiken zu minimieren und die Kundenzufriedenheit zu verbessern.

StreetSmart – Details

StreetSmart

https://www.streetsmartmobile.com/

Gegründet 1999

StreetSmart – Kostenübersicht

StreetSmart bietet keine Gratisversion, aber eine kostenlose Testversion. Die kostenpflichtige Version von StreetSmart ist ab 9,95 $/Monat verfügbar.

Startpreis

9,95 $/Monat

Kostenlose Version

Nein

Gratis Testen

Ja

Einsatz

Cloud, SaaS, Web

Training

Live Online

Webinare

Dokumentation

Kundenbetreuung

24/7 (Live Vertreter)

StreetSmart Funktionen

Field Service Management Software
Abrechnung & Rechnungsstellung
Angebote / Schätzungen
Arbeitsauftragsverwaltung
Elektronische Unterschrift
Inventarverwaltung
Kontakt-Datenbank
Kundendienst-Historie-Nachverfolgung
Mobiler Zugriff
Online-Zeiterfassung
Routing
Terminplanung
Versandmanagement
Vertragsmanagement
Zahlungseinzug im Außendienst

StreetSmart – Nutzerbewertungen

Zeigt 5 von 109 Nutzerbewertungen

Gesamt
4,2/5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
4,2/5
Kundenservice
4,2/5
Funktionen
4,1/5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
4/5
Verifizierter Rezensent
Regional Manager
51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    4/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    3/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    5/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    Nicht bewertet
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 15.3.2018

"Work so good I never had to contact support"

Vorteile: Interface is very intuitive. Easy to use and access to basic features is a great plus, user friendly even for non-tech users.

Nachteile: Tracking miles and showing statistics for users would be a nice feature. The usage of battery is very high on android and iOS devices. I have been using it on both platforms and the app is a battery eater

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von ClickSoftware an 22.3.2018

Thank you for your feedback on StreetSmart.

It is good to hear the solution is intuitive - even for non tech users and that everything runs so smoothly you never have to contact support!

We have forwarded your suggestopms to our product management team for review.

Thanks again for your review!

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 15.3.2018
Jim R.
Purchasing and Logistics Manager
Gastgewerbe, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    4/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    Nicht bewertet
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Nicht bewertet
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    9/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 8.1.2019

"StreetSmart Review by Jim"

Kommentare: Streetsmart has allowed us to tailor a software system to the needs of our company. We have dramatically reduced our direct labor costs, which is far and away our number one expenditure. The ability to track and report on anything from job details to vehicle mileage and locations has completely changed our business, and will continue to do so as we grow and evolve as a company.

Vorteile: This software has helped fundamentally change our small business! It has allowed us to be more efficient as a team and effective as a hospitality service provider. I most enjoy the ability to plan and schedule company actions far ahead of time, track in real time, and report on any job function afterward with details that I can customize to best fit our team's needs. The user-friendly interface allows quick manipulation that saves me extremely valuable time.

Nachteile: The only con would be lack of a more 'real time' messaging option for communicating with workers in the field. The current messaging feature is extremely handy, but a faster 'chat' type function (think facebook messenger, or mightytext) would take this software over the moon for my company.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 8.1.2019
Marcelo B.
Business Developer
Hausmeisterservice, 2-10 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
  • Gesamtbewertung
    3/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    2/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    2/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    3/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    3/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    4/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 11.6.2019

"Street Smart is stuck in time "

Kommentare: The first project manager helping us was the worst, then we made a big deal about it and the second person was wonderful. She did the best she could with what she could offer. The support team are awful too. You will lose you cool everytime you need to call them.

Vorteile: IT has a lot important and hard features to get on one place. GPS and timestamp, geoface, forms, the ability to customize them is some ways.

Nachteile: There were more dislikes than likes, but I feel is lack in some simples features such as calendar functionalities. The interface is AWFUL and out of date. IT's not a simple program to use or learn and the interface is stuck in the 2000's.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von ClickSoftware an 19.6.2019

Marcel,

Thank you for providing feedback on StreetSmart. We are glad to hear that the application has a lot of features you need in one place start stop report you have is accurate and easy to use. Because the application is rather robust, we do have periodic training for all our customers that can be found in your customer portal. I have forwarded the issues you have to our product team as well for your calendar functionality. We also encourage customers to submit requests through smartsupport@clicksoftware.com as they would be able to see where the bugs/disconnect are with your calendar.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 11.6.2019
Adrienne R.
Director of Operations
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    4/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    3/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    4/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    3/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    Nicht bewertet
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 19.3.2018

"Does what it says it will"

Vorteile: This really is a simple program to use in terms of setting up and customizing jobs and report. It's also a great tool for locating my techs while they are in the field and helping them manage their time while on a job site. It's also a great way to keep my service techs and our service calendar in sync ensuring a high level of customer service. Our customers love the reports and the information we provide.

Nachteile: The 2 most frustrating things with this software are the inability to make a customer inactive, and the lack of a place to make notes like gate codes. Currently, your only options are to delete a customer, which means you lose all of their history as well and for gate codes or special instructions, we have to either type them in at each service call (which is weekly) or note it somewhere in the address line 2 section.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von ClickSoftware an 22.3.2018

Adrienne,

Thank you for your feedback on StreetSmart. We are pleased to hear you find the solution helpful in maintaining a high level of customer service. We have also forwarded your comments to our product team for review.

Thank you again for your feedback.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 19.3.2018
Kevin B.
Regional Director of Operations
Freizeit, Reisen & Tourismus, 201-500 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
  • Gesamtbewertung
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    5/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    Nicht bewertet
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Nicht bewertet
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    10/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 15.1.2019

"Awesome...with headaches."

Kommentare: We run a very unique business and the folks at StreetSmart have been able to completely customize our web portal and corresponding App on our tablets. They have been tremendous in capturing data that we can use for market trends and analyse logistics, and our ability to add/delete new forms on the fly has proven extremely valuable when rolling out new initiatives throughout the year. The amount of data we push back and forth daily from the tablets is quite large, so when an error occurs in the data transfer, this can cause major issues. Although the web developers have been able to work out many of the kinks with our Corporate Support folks, errors still tend to occur on a somewhat regular basis. Overall, I believe that the sky is the limit with StreetSmart. It doesn't matter what kind of business you have...they can customize it for you. Just make sure your IT people are on top of their game if you have 100+ tablet users every day.

Vorteile: The software was fully customized to meet the needs of my company. I can generate reports in the web portal that drill down to very specific details throughout day.

Nachteile: The root menus can be a bit cumbersome to navigate, but I think that's part of our own doing. There's not much about the software that I don't like. My major frustrations are with data transfers in the back end of our SQL server and the software's communication with our employees' tablets.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 15.1.2019