Passport Photo Maker

Passport Photo Maker

von AMS Software

Wer verwendet Passport Photo Maker?

Die Hauptnutzer sind professionelle Fotografen, Fotostudios, Fotoautomaten und Druckereien. Die Software wird auch von verschiedenen Organisationen verwendet, von Schulen und Universitäten bis hin zu großen Unternehmen.

Was ist Passport Photo Maker?

Professionelle Software zum Erstellen und Drucken von ID-Fotos. Passport Photo Maker bietet effiziente Lösungen für eine Vielzahl von Benutzern, die ID-Fotos erstellen müssen, von Privatanwendern bis hin zu großen Unternehmen und professionellen Fotostudios auf der ganzen Welt.

Passport Photo Maker – Details

AMS Software

http://ams-photo-software.com

Gegründet 2003

Passport Photo Maker – Kostenübersicht

Passport Photo Maker bietet keine Gratisversion, aber eine kostenlose Testversion. Die kostenpflichtige Version von Passport Photo Maker ist ab 39,95 $/einmalig verfügbar.

Startpreis

39,95 $/einmalig

Kostenlose Version

Nein

Gratis Testen

Ja

Einsatz

Installiert - Windows

Training

Dokumentation

Kundenbetreuung

Support während der Geschäftszeiten

Online

Passport Photo Maker Funktionen

Identity Management Systeme
Benutzer-Bereitstellung
Compliance Management
Einmalige Anmeldung
Multi-Faktor-Authentifizierung
Passwort-Management
Privileged Account Management
Self-Service-Zugriffsanfrage
Zugriffszertifizierung

Passport Photo Maker – Nutzerbewertungen

Zeigt 5 von 18 Nutzerbewertungen

Gesamt
4,3/5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
4,3/5
Kundenservice
3,8/5
Funktionen
4,1/5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
4,2/5
Vaithehi S.
Instructor ( Academic)
Bildungsmanagement, 501-1.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: 6-12 Monate
  • Gesamtbewertung
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    3/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    4/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    4/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    8/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 15.8.2019

"Best online passport maker "

Vorteile: Software is very helpful in making passport photo without wasting much time. Very effective.

Nachteile: Can make little bit changes in color related options

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 15.8.2019
Andrzej M.
Owner
Druck, Selbstständig
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    4/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    4/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    1/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    4/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    1/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 27.8.2019

"Only for 12 months"

Kommentare: I do passport and visa photos

Vorteile: Easy to use. Has some professional qualities like background color adjustment. Preset for different photo requirements.

Nachteile: The software works only for 1 (one) year. The top right corner it will show you what is the time left for free update and as soon as this time for free update ends so is the software. I have complained several times and the support people always denied this accusation claiming that there is something conflicting on my computer. I have purchased another full version of the software and installed on a different computer and after 12 months it happened again. So running a business and rely on this software will cause a lot of problems at the time because you will not receive support as claimed on the website it may take day or more to reply and when representative finely reply it will be with a questions that will post-pound the reactivation of the software for another day. This software is set to work only 12 months even though it is not a subscription.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von AMS Software an 28.8.2019

Hello Mr Marciszewski,
Thank you for your review. We are extremely sorry for the issues you encountered using our software. We do provide a lifetime license, not a subscription. But according to your problem description, you lost access to the software due to our activation server errors. This happens for some users who have older versions, and in this case, our support staff help to restore access - to do that, they need to check which version of the program you have installed so they can provide adequate assistance. We are very sorry it took a while with you. Generally, we provide support within one business day. It may take a bit longer if several of the staff are off sick. Anyway, we'll forward your review to the management so they consider employing more staff to speed up customer service operations.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 27.8.2019
David F.
Photographer
Fotografie, 2-10 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: 1-5 Monate
  • Gesamtbewertung
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    5/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    5/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    10/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 7.5.2020

"Totally love it but no Mac version :("

Kommentare: The customer service was excellent. However sadly I couldn't proceed with a purchase because I only use Mac computers in my business.

Vorteile: I love that it had all of the various countries pre-installed but that you could also adjust them in time as specifications change. That it appeared to make the process of taking passport photos so quick and simple.

Nachteile: That is wasn't available in a Mac version!

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 7.5.2020
Darren G.
Director
Druck, 2-10 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
  • Gesamtbewertung
    1/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    1/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    1/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    1/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    1/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    0/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 25.2.2020

"Full Version of Software Expires after 1 Year"

Kommentare: False sales & advertising. If it was sold as a subscription service originally I understand but to force it when you purchased and invested time in learning it is terrible. Horrible customer service that refuses to respond other than asking you to spend more money.

Vorteile: There is no pro when you purchase a functioning software and are forced to purchase a new license every year.

Nachteile: The support team is completely unresponsive other than telling you to spend $50 to buy a new license for the full version

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von AMS Software an 28.2.2020

Hi Darren,
Thank you for your review. We are sincerely sorry for the issues you had with our software. It's not a subscription service in fact, we do provide a lifelong license. But it looks like you lost access to your software due to an activation server error. This might happen for some users with older versions, and in such cases, our support should help you restore access. They definitely won't force you to purchase a license anew, so there must have been some misunderstanding. Can you send me your support ticket number so we can look into this in detail? We'll certainly take action if the support operator wasn't following their guidelines.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 25.2.2020
Jon V.
Investigator
Strafverfolgung, 201-500 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
  • Gesamtbewertung
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    5/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    Nicht bewertet
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Nicht bewertet
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    0/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 26.2.2020

"Software will not stay activated"

Vorteile: When it works, it works. It does what we need it to do. But then, it no longer stays activated.

Nachteile: The software will not stay activated after a year. This is the second time that the program says that my trial is over. I did not pay $40 for a trial. I do not wish to update the software. However, every year to 18 months, the software crashes and says my trial is over. No. I will not recommend this software to anybody else.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von AMS Software an 3.3.2020

Hello Mr VanHouten, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you had difficulties with our software. The problem you describe is a known issue in some of our older versions, and tech support are instructed to help clients who encounter this bug asap. If you contacted our support team with this issue and didn't get adequate help, do let us know so we can investigate this case.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 26.2.2020