WhatsUp Gold Erfahrungen

Über WhatsUp Gold

Erhalten Sie auf einen Blick Informationen zum Status und zur Leistung von Netzwerkgeräten, Servern, Speicher und WLAN.

Erfahre mehr über WhatsUp Gold

Vorteile:

It integrates well with PagerDuty and covers the bulk of our monitoring needs.

Nachteile:

Navigating through the Web interface is little difficult as it has many options and you need to drill down to get to the information you need.

Bewertungen zu WhatsUp Gold

Durchschnittliche Bewertung

Benutzerfreundlichkeit
4,1
Kundenservice
4,4
Funktionen
4,4
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
4,3

Weiterempfehlungsquote

8,3/10

WhatsUp Gold hat eine Gesamtbewertung von 4,4 von 5 Sternen basierend auf 200 Nutzerbewertungen auf Capterra.

Hast du WhatsUp Gold bereits verwendet?

Teile deine Erfahrungen mit anderen Softwareinteressenten.

Nutzerbewertungen filtern (200)

Jaime Isai
Jaime Isai
Senior Network Engineer in El Salvador
Verifizierter Nutzer auf LinkedIn
Informationstechnologie & -dienste, 201-500 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen:

WhatsUp Gold best Network Monitoring System

5,0 vor 2 Monaten Neu

Kommentare: Excellent experience, I can't complaint. It's a must have tool for every organization to perform a better approach in advance and to have a full network visibility.

Vorteile:

It is easy to implement and use. It enables you to map all of your network devices and access them thru it. It helps you to have a full visibility of all of your network. You can also set the performance alerts at your critical devices as servers, switches, routers and firewalls. It helps you to get the bandwidth monitoring by devices and applications.

Nachteile:

It will be great to have a full library of MIBs for all network security devices and not having to look by each brand site.

Kristina
Sys Admin in USA
Maschinerie, 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
Herkunft der Bewertung

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen:

WhatsUp Gold Review

5,0 vor 2 Jahren

Kommentare: After everything was set up, we have had almost no issues. The customer support is great and the reps are great. The software has free updates which is awesome and the community board is very helpful. I would recommend this product to any IT environment that is looking for network monitoring solution.

Vorteile:

It fits exactly what we need it to do. Monitor our devices and send us alerts when there is an issue. The schematic is also very helpful because we have it broken down into locations and grouped together to make things easier to use. It is also very helpful to put in all the information we have into the details of the device so that its all in one place. It helps us stay organized!

Nachteile:

The set up was atrocious. We had to run a scan like 6 times to find everything. Eventually I had to add things in one by one which took forever. It is not simple to use. You have to really understand the icons and how things are linked within the software. I wished there was better documentation and videos about this. Especially with the setup. The whole installation and setup was a nightmare.

Jim
Network Engineer in USA
Personalbeschaffung & -besetzung, 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

WhatsUp Gold

3,0 vor 2 Jahren

Kommentare: We use Whatsup Gold to proactively tell us when something is wrong before users start complaining. It has served us well in this capacity
We use WUG thresholds and netflow data to determine when business (and non-business) processes are interfering with user performance at our branches with limited network capacity. We use the netflow data and work with the branch to have the offending processes eliminated or moved to afterhours when there is no user impact.
We use thresholds and dashboard graphs to provide capacity planning information.
Overall WhatsUp Gold has been a mixed bag for us. There have been failed upgrades and bugs that cost us time. Page rendering is adequate at best and frustrating at its worst. But is has provided the monitoring alerting, and capacity planning that we need to stay ahead.

Vorteile:

The ease of adding a device, and getting monitors configured with alerts is what like best. To go from no monitoring to getting a text/email when something goes wrong is relatively easy with this product. The ease of putting specific graph items on a page (dashboard) is also very useful.

Nachteile:

The biggest problem with this product is the performance/capacity of the product to generate graphs. Using java to fetch data from the database to paint pages is slow. I can collect 500,000 data items and generate 100,000 graphs without much horsepower with a tool like CACTI which uses php and flat text rrd files to paint the graph. I can put ten times as many graphs on a page and it still paints 10 times faster. This performance limitation is the biggest week point between your products and the competition. I maintain a CACTI server to do the heavy lifting for graphing high density interface switches in the data centers because WUG is too slow. The thing that I like least about the software is the inability of the administrator to manage other users views. and the lack of an anonymous view. You want to be able to give upper management a link to click on to see pretty graphs and charts. They do not want to have to log in. And you do not want them messing up the view so it constantly has to be fixed. Logging in as admin, changing the users rights, logging out,logging in as the user, changing the dashboard, logging out, logging in as the admin and setting the rights back, is a lousy way to have to manage this.

Richard
System Administrator in USA
Landwirtschaft, 201-500 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

WhatsUp Gold - A Must Have

5,0 vor 4 Monaten

Kommentare: Huge time saver in monitoring and handling issues that pop up. We have the out of sight-out of mind mentality. WhatsUp is our eyes and is a must have software.

Vorteile:

Ease of setup and management. The capabilities to monitor all different kinds of systems in one place makes this software invaluable. Perfect fit for our critical monitoring needs.

Nachteile:

Can't say I have any issues with WhatsUp Gold. It runs 24/7 keeping us safe.

Mark
Network Administrator in USA
Landwirtschaft, 201-500 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen:

WhatsUp Gold Replaces Monitoring Service

4,0 vor 2 Jahren

Kommentare: WhatsUP gold is monitoring the same things, if not more, than an IT services company was doing for about $500/mo. This saved us a huge amount of money in the long run and was totally worth the configuration issues we had.

Vorteile:

Customizable to monitor only the network parts/components that we wanted monitored. Able to set it to send email and SMS (via email) alerts to multiple users.

Nachteile:

Network discovery was a bit slow and clunky. After a network change we had to delete the current monitors and do a complete re-scan or it doubled up the devices.

Tom
IT Director in USA
Staatsverwaltung, 201-500 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen:

Legacy WUG user

4,0 vor 2 Jahren

Kommentare: We are proactively monitoring network, server and application infrastructure in a way that allows for pro-active maintenance and reporting. It allows us to view and manage IT assets easily, I only wish I had more time to utilize more of it's features.

Vorteile:

It provides a nice visual representation of the health of your IT infrastructure environment and allows for the easy drilling down into details that are needed. It is full of features and information and allows for proactive monitoring.

Nachteile:

Nothing specifically at this time.

Doug
Director of IT in USA
Einzelhandel, 201-500 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

WhatsUp Gold Application Review

5,0 vor 5 Monaten

Vorteile:

WhatsUp Gold is easy to use and gives us great visibility into our Network and Servers. The discovery of devices has been very helpful. The alerts and reporting have been very helpful.

Nachteile:

It took a little while to learn to navigate the software but once you learn the layout you can move around quickly and find the information needed.

Craig
Owner in USA
Informationstechnologie & -dienste, 2-10 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen:

Easy to configure, customize and implement

4,0 vor 2 Jahren

Kommentare: Wonderful product and reasonably priced compared to other commercial solutions.

Vorteile:

Ability to setup proactive alerts based upon custom application monitors, to provide notification to key support individuals of critical process failures.

Nachteile:

Web interface can sometimes be slow and/or require clearing cache and refreshing.

Henry
System Engineer in USA
Kosmetik, 501-1.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
Herkunft der Bewertung

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen:

I like the products!

4,0 vor 2 Jahren

Kommentare: Overall products is good but it needs more easy configurations for basic setting.

Vorteile:

I could view all device status in simple network map

Nachteile:

It is hard to update the changed info. Also too hard to manage notifications.

Moises
System Administrator in Dominikanische Republik
Krankenhausversorgung & Gesundheitswesen, 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Kostenlose Testversion
Herkunft der Bewertung

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen:

Incredible software for monitoring and have your network running smooth and statistics on time.

5,0 letzten Monat Neu

Kommentare: We know this tool from a long time ago, and it is amazing when you can trust your network and servers to this solution and be able to make just a little as to get the reports.

Vorteile:

Notifications, Alerts and Analytics are the most useful features for me.

Nachteile:

Nothing so far. Everything works as we need.

RJ
Infrastructure Operations Manager in USA
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

wug 17&18 has an overall better interface that is responsive, a few minor fixes will make it aweso

4,0 vor 4 Jahren

Vorteile:

The device cards are a nice addition; quickly access common features. Creating dashboard is much easier now than in previous version; more flexible. I like how things are now grouped together, e.g. accessing logs you don't have to go to 3-4 different locations. Searching for devices is great!

Nachteile:

Device roles and discovery could use some work. need to be able finding monitors in library is cumbersome, need a way to search or jump alphabetically Device types were remove, new versions don't support changing OS type Need a way to create dynamic HTTPS content monitor, meaning you could hit an address like so : http://%device.Hostname/NmConsole (hostname is not supported, only address) HTTPS TCP monitors only support SSL TLS 1.0 I spend a lot of time hitting F5 to refresh the browser because the change I just made is not reflected. you can drag and drop devices - need an easier way to manage groups. Need a way to pin favorite groups in navigation pane. When you are on device status page from my network you have to click back button 3-4 times to return to the my network page. Would like to see more youtube videos on how to use the newer version; would be a great way to deliver user training. I would like the ability to delete a device from the devices properties page.

Antwort von Ipswitch

vor 4 Jahren

Hi, Thanks so much for the kind words! We're delighted that you're enjoying WhatsUp Gold and we love hearing about how you're using it. Please note that we do have a number of videos on Youtube that go into detail on our most recent release WhatsUp Gold 2018 as well as a Quick Tips series of how-to videos here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MmaOx9MsMEQ. If you have further questions about using WhatsUp Gold please feel free to contact us directly or visit our online Community for more help. Thanks again for using WhatsUp Gold.

Ray
Global Technical Operations Manager in USA
Finanzdienstleistungen, 501-1.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen:

WUG CRA Experience

5,0 vor 2 Jahren

Kommentare: Alerting and allowing us to be proactive on issues is main focus and WUG has allowed my team to accomplish that goal. Reporting/automating reports and providing different practices within CRA the option of personalized dashboards to gauge performance has been a favorite offering from IT to our end users.

Vorteile:

Goes without saying that it is easy to implement, intuitive and easy to manage. Dashboards and views are ++++

Nachteile:

been using WUG for over 10years and have brought in to 3 different companies i've worked for---to date, i haven't found anything I dislike.

Antwort von Progress Software

vor 2 Jahren

Thank you for the review and for being a valued customer.

Jim
Sr. Network Admin in USA
Medizinische Geräte, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

One of the best Monitoring products available

5,0 vor 2 Jahren

Kommentare: I monitor all critical objects such as CPU, memory, disk and response time. I am also monitoring critical services such as SQL, Rapid Recovery to name a few. One of the main benefits is receiving an email alert before or when a device is down so we can avoid tons of tickets from users.

Vorteile:

I have been using What'sUp Gold network monitoring for years. I was first introduced to the product in 2003. My company at the time was using Solarwinds which I found to be not very user friendly. So I did some research and found What'sUP Gold. Out of the box it was easy to implement and provided much more clarity and features. It provides me with a proactive approach for when any monitored device hits a predetermined threshold. Absolutely love it.

Nachteile:

There isn't much I don't like about the product.

Antwort von Progress Software

vor 2 Jahren

Thank you for being a long time valued customer and for your positive review!

Brian
Assistant Utilities Director in USA
Versorgungsunternehmen, 11-50 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen:

Reliable and easy to use network monitoring software

5,0 vor 2 Jahren

Kommentare: We have been using WhatsUp as our network monitoring solution for over a decade now, and have found it to be easy to configure and maintain, and pricing was very competitive. We haven't needed to utilize product support more than a couple of times, and they were very responsive and helpful when needed.

Vorteile:

SNMP and WMI monitoring alerts for monitored devices and services are reliable and easy to configure. Alert Center keeps us up to date on device status. Logs are collected and able to be accessed from one location. The software provides a variety of ways to group devices, and a lot of customizability for various monitors and alerts.

Nachteile:

The mobile app was a nice addition to the platform, however is very basic and could use a lot of improvements to turn it into a useful monitoring and administration tool.

Glenn
Network Manager in USA
Computer-Software, 201-500 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

Excellent product however lately they are advertising features that are not working

4,0 vor 4 Jahren

Kommentare: It provides us an overall health of the environment and provides great alerting tool.

Vorteile:

The interface is nice and customizable. Upgrading to new versions are very simple. The overall alert monitoring is great. They continue to add in new features to keep up with the overall demanding IT infrastructure. Working with their technical and product teams are great as they listen to your issues and/or suggestions and look to add new features by communicating to their customers on their sprints.

Nachteile:

As of late the Whats Up Gold Plus product is not delivering based on what has been communicated to their customers. I attended a conference where IPSwitch stated their WhatsUp Gold product supported Microsoft Azure, Dell Compellent Storage and Wireless APs. When we implemented the product it only supports a small piece of Azure that requires Servers and not WebApps/Sites. In addition, the Dell Compellent provides incorrect measurements which is now being looked at on their technical team because there are issues with their release. On the AP Support it is stating they cannot read into our Cisco Airnet APs which are very standard. This too is a feature request. I like the product but for the cost I would expect these types of features to work.

Verifizierter Rezensent
Network Admin in USA
Verifizierter Nutzer auf LinkedIn
Bildungsmanagement, 501-1.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen:

Solid Monitoring and Reporting

5,0 vor 5 Monaten

Kommentare: very positive - good support

Vorteile:

Easy to set up, good support, good add-ons

Nachteile:

not intuitive menus - setting up notifications takes some practice - many good features are hidden

Dustin
Dustin
Network Administrator in USA
Verifizierter Nutzer auf LinkedIn
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

WhatsUpGold is a great tool for monitoring the status of your network.

5,0 vor 4 Jahren

Kommentare: We mainly benefit from the alerts system that will notify all specified employees via text/email whenever a part of our network goes down. Typically we will know something is down before our users even notice the problem.

Vorteile:

The alerts are where WhatsUpGold really shines. They are all fully customizable and once they're setup to your specifications they work like a dream. A majority of the time we will know when something on the network goes down before our users even notice the problem!

Nachteile:

This product can do so many different things it becomes a little overwhelming. Once alerts are setup they work great, but the configuration process can get pretty confusing if you haven't done it before. Online training videos on how to configure certain features would be a great tool.

Antwort von Ipswitch

vor 4 Jahren

Hi and thanks so much for the kind words! We¿re delighted that you¿re enjoying WhatsUp Gold and we love hearing about how you¿re using it. Please note that we do have a number of videos on Youtube that go into detail on our most recent release WhatsUp Gold 2018 as well as a Quick Tips series of how-to videos here: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCS2lCWFrs4paSSNpe1JnTnQ If you have further questions about using WhatsUp Gold please feel free to contact us directly or visit our online Community at commmunity.ipswitch.com for more help. Thanks again for using WhatsUp Gold.

Dustin
System Administrator in Kanada
Krankenhausversorgung & Gesundheitswesen, 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

Robust and streamlined monitoring

5,0 vor 2 Jahren

Kommentare: WUG has been a solid piece of our network for years now, their support team is great and the product does everything we need it to do and more. It is reasonably priced for what you get.

Vorteile:

We mostly use WhatsUp for server and service monitoring but we also use it for configuration management on the majority of our network devices, Netflow Analysis, and Application monitoring. For years WUG has been a solid investment and the constant flow of updates keeps adding new features with every release. With the ability to create your own custom monitors and actions WUG will let you do almost anything you can think of.

Nachteile:

Because it is so customizable there is a lot to do to make use of the full capabilities of WUG. It would also be nice to see external integrations via an API of some sort bring able to quickly pull info from WUG using a Slack or Teams bot would be handy. An enhancement of the reporting capabilities such as embedded dashboards allowing users to present information from WUG on other websites and services would help admins present WUG information to customers more easily.

Antwort von Progress Software

vor 2 Jahren

Thank you for the review and for being a valued customer.

Logan
IT Manager in USA
Bildungsmanagement, 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
Herkunft der Bewertung

Mid-level monitoring platform that works

5,0 vor 8 Monaten

Kommentare: Overall we've had a great experience with WUG. During the Solarwinds hack we were looking for an emergency replacement for our monitoring platform. We were able to get a WUG server set up and going, monitoring all of our systems, within a week. Moving over to WUG has generally been a great experience, with little overhead managing the system. The price was right, as well.

Vorteile:

This product is easy to set up and has minimum specs - we monitor nearly a thousand systems and sites using just one WUG server. This product doesn't have bolt-on applications that makes it hard to manage and upgrade down the road. This product has a lot of value for the money.

Nachteile:

No API interface available for automation of monitoring. No complex alert logic or recovery notification options available. Minimum features (plays into some of the Pros, however).

Steve
Director of I.S. / Communications in USA
Krankenhausversorgung & Gesundheitswesen, 201-500 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen:

Simple and easy to use

5,0 vor 2 Jahren

Kommentare: I have had positive experiences with WhatsUpGold. The sales staff and tech support are friendly and knowledgeable.

Vorteile:

This software is simple and easy to use. The alerts it gives the I.S. Department are very valuable in that we have so much infrastructure it would be very difficult to monitor all of it in real time. WhatsUpGold makes that task much easier and often lets us know when there is an issue before we would be informed otherwise.

Nachteile:

There is so much information sent to I.S. it could fill up your mailbox pretty quickly if you don't keep on top of it.

Antwort von Progress Software

vor 2 Jahren

Thank you for the review and for being a valued customer.

Thomas
Information Security Officer in USA
Bildungsmanagement, 5.001-10.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen:

WhatsUp Gold Analysis

5,0 vor 4 Monaten

Kommentare: Overall, WUG has been a very positive experience with more positives than negatives. It has alerted us of issues before our customers are aware of them. It has allowed us to create baselines on uptime.

Vorteile:

This is an inexpensive way to look at your network and get notifications of when you have issues. It also allows you to obtain an inventory of your products. It can take advantage of SNMPv3.

Nachteile:

You can have issues with the requirement to delete and recreate objects to get new inventory. This means replying all the rules again.

Evan
AVP - Network Manager in USA
Bankwesen, 201-500 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen:

WhatsUp Gold

5,0 letztes Jahr

Kommentare: It has been a positive one. I have used WUG for about 7 years now.

Vorteile:

Configuration Management, Monitoring and the Dashboards.

Nachteile:

The reporting is lacking as I feel like it hasn't been updated in some time. The manner in which reports are sent via email can be sloppy at times and the actual reporting options are limited.

Mike
Network Administrator in USA
Versorgungsunternehmen, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen:

Always Improving, Some Layer 2 Problems

4,0 vor 2 Jahren

Kommentare: Adequate tool for monitoring and sending alerts to the IT members, with escalations if not resolved

Vorteile:

It is mostly reliable. Great scan engine, intuitive, maintenance mode with time limits, lots of great features

Nachteile:

Layer 2 auto-maps are not reliable. I have opened several tickets and these problems never get resolved. If this feature worked reliably it would be a huge time saver.

Antwort von Progress Software

vor 2 Jahren

Thank you for the review and for being a valued customer.

Dorian
Global Systems Architect in USA
Versorgungsunternehmen, 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

Great program for monitoring and maintaining your IT infrastructure

5,0 vor 2 Jahren

Vorteile:

Basic installation and configuration of WUG is very easy. Out of the box, there are many monitors that can be set up without a large amount of experience. The titles and tooltips make setting up the initial software package very simple.

Nachteile:

Adding non-default alerts seem to be a little more difficult than should be.

Paul
Senior Systems analyst in USA
Bildungsmanagement, 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

I have had nothing but outstanding experience with IPswitch and it's staff.

5,0 vor 4 Jahren

Kommentare: Our Network and VM monitoring has improved by 200%

Vorteile:

First is its reliability. I have matched it against other products such as CACTI and more accurate in the numbers game. Also, its flexibility when it comes to even exporting and importing of databases to new versions of WUG. Another aspect I like is how there is always constant improvement with the product. The versions never stay static. Always moving forward. I have in recent made of suggestion and IPSwitch said they would investigate it and possibly have it in a beta release.

Nachteile:

This is a most difficult question to answer. If I had to come up with anything ... It is that they are under staffed. Every single employee on tech side, sales, marketing must be working 24 hours a day 7 days a week. Answers are always 100 percent correct but the same staff answers your questions. Those employee s need help. Hire !!!