Filtern nach:

Durchschnittliche Bewertung

  • Gesamt
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
  • Kundenservice

Über vSphere

Lieferung von umfassenden, personalisierten virtuellen Desktops an jedes Gerät mit allen Vorteilen des zentralen Enterprise-Desktop-Management.

Erfahre mehr über vSphere

Zeigt 358 Bewertungen

Jose de jesus R.
Jose de jesus R.
Gerencia de Área Plataforma Tecnológica in Venezuela
Verifizierter Nutzer auf LinkedIn
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

My experience virtualizing productivity environment for the growth of services

5 vor 3 Jahren

Kommentare: The opportunity to share my experience with the use of VMwaresVphere is generous because I can help other users with my recommendation or other potential clients who wish to implement a virtualized environment

Vorteile:

I have worked for a few years in virtualization, using virtual environments completely or mixed environments, virtual - physical, and MWware vSphere has shown me to be a hypervisor, taking full advantage of the processing capacity of each host, so taking advantage of the centralized administration that is achieved through VMware Vcenter, the large number of configurations of networks and virtual networks give an additional value to product. Likewise the use of multiple operating systems allows me to have a server farm with a variety of services to our customers to meet their needs 100%. Actually working VMware vSphere together with VMware vCenter is the greatest benefit cost advantage, since we have significant savings in terms of equipment maintenance, licensing, space saving, energy savings and man hours dedicated to supervising a physical environment as such.

Nachteile:

The daily work of the vSphere tool has helped me to know it and not only know its advantages and benefits but also its few weak points, however its greatest weakness may be its high cost, which for implementations in small business environments can be very difficult. of implementing since a technological infrastructure of process of a great capacity is required and the cost in the licensing would affect in an important way the cash flow, and it would be underutilized. Without the integration of VMware Vcenter 100% all the benefits of VMware vSphere would not be used. Equally, the training of the staff would also have a huge cost, even though the training by the technical staff is excellent, there is also the virtual training that gives the advantage of cost savings, however it is not as effective as in person.

Sagar J.
Sagar J.
System Administrator in Indien
Verifizierter Nutzer auf LinkedIn
Informationstechnologie & -dienste, 501-1.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

Vmware Vsphere

4 vor 7 Monaten

Kommentare: It's cost-effective - pay as use concept if no need stop your services and get free from billings Space Effective - physical to virtual conversation helps you to save your infra space which is not possible in case of physical deployment Why Vsphere - it a product of a leading virtualization vendor.

Vorteile:

Vsphere - Vcenter is the platform where you can create configure and customize the virtual machines as per the customer requirement Vsphere allows you to synchronize with multiple host/nodes, which helps you run the features of high availability smart server deployment. Vsphere has various products which help every smaller multinational organization to manage their cloud infrastructures. Vpshere allows you the features which highly recommended and essential to smoothly run any organization. Vsphere is the product of Vmware and the vendor is running in the top list of virtualization providers Features of Vsphere High Availability - Providing the high SLA Distributor resource scheduler - smart deployment of servers Distributor power management - save you cost Fault Tolerance - Zero downtime Wow that you rarely get with any other virtualization platform.

Nachteile:

Vsphere should be licensed purchased it's not allowed you to run the infra after 30 days of trial. There are various packages available for their products, so small-level organizations are supposed to run all features they have to pay the cost of the required product. Should require stronger connectivity to access your Vsphere smoothly.

Verifizierter Rezensent
Network and System Administrator in USA
Verifizierter Nutzer auf LinkedIn
Bildungsmanagement, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

Bring back the thick client for Windows

3 vor 2 Jahren

Kommentare: They tried to make it more convenient by forcing everyone to the web version, but they did it too soon. Too slow, buggy, and reliant on old technology. They should have waited until the HTML5 version was fully ready and rolled it out then.

Vorteile:

With esx 6+ you are forced to the web version of vsphere. This does have its conveniences (when it works), and for the most part contains everything in the older thick software client. Managing and access VM's is similar. Installing updates is arguably easier, and vcenter management seems to be more feature filled.

Nachteile:

Where do I start .... first of all, you need to have flash installed and allowed to get the full feature set on the browser. The HTML5 version is great when it works, but very buggy. Also, it is not nearly as responsive as the old software client. For the remote console, you need to install a plugin and software to get that working properly.

Ibrahim M.
System Engineer in Ägypten
Computer- & Netzwerksicherheit, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

VMware vSphere Review

5 vor 4 Monaten

Kommentare: Very satisfied.

Vorteile:

-Easy of use -Resources allocation for VMs. -Easy migration -Usability -Stability -Frequently updates with new features and security fixes.

Nachteile:

Orchestration features need more AI enhancements and more automation integration using API this will made integration process very easy for developers and administrators.

Gabriel M.
Senior Engineer Proactive Maintenance Lead in Panama
Informationstechnologie & -dienste, 10.000+ Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

Big changes on new Vsphere 6.7

5 vor 2 Jahren

Kommentare: Have been on the technology field for over a decade by now working with a lot of different virtualization technologies, by far this is one of the most reliable and easy to use out there.
Have seem some weird issues with another virtualization technologies but vsphere always had a lot of redundancy to prevent the production going down once you have configured it correctly.

Vorteile:

- Stylish new look. - Better performance than previous versions. - Lots of support for security bridges not supported on previous version and hardware compatibility with new products and software.

Nachteile:

- User interface is annoying sometimes. Mostly this is one of the huge concerns for me on this new version, If i want to see the running task there are a lot of widget on the screen and need to zoom out the view to see some of the running task, or the alerts, then zoom in to read it correctly and zoom it out to see them again, is a little annoying for me but well it works... For anything else is pretty good.

Amar M.
Senior Server Engineer in USA
Gesundheit, Wellness & Fitness, 501-1.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

Works well for large organizations, a bit costly for smaller companies

5 vor 2 Jahren

Kommentare: I've been using it for over 9 years now, started with version 4.0 and have gotten good exposure to all versions up to and including 6.7.

Vorteile:

Ease of use, the functionality. The ability to add more API's as well as creating different levels of administration. IE Helpdesk, user, administrator etc. Helpdesk is very helpful and work with you till there is an actual resolution to the problem.

Nachteile:

The cost. Compatibility with some of the older hardware (specifically Dell R810). Almost impossible to get support for any version less than 6.0.

Scott B.
Sr. Engineer in USA
Bankwesen, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

The only infrastructure you will need

5 vor 2 Jahren

Vorteile:

The integration with so many products makes this an easy choice.

Nachteile:

The initial setup can take some time to get right.

Mahendra G.
Mahendra G.
Office Clerk in Indien
Verifizierter Nutzer auf LinkedIn
Computer- & Netzwerksicherheit, 501-1.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
Herkunft der Bewertung

My Efficient Virtual Space

5 vor 8 Monaten

Kommentare: Here is very great and thankful experience using Vmware Vsphere , My lot of work are going to Smooth and Well organised My client issues solved by my team very amazingly and fast
i think it’s very best and effective software for business and company so definitely i recommend this over any other software

Vorteile:

VSphere is best and most efficient platform for manging virtual machine we can easily share the physically stored machine in the data centre to our client through the Vsphere , we can access and quickly resolve the issues of client using vsphere More well oraganizly

Nachteile:

It’s most costly software but it provides lot of features but if you want to give suppose 20000 vms so you need to get the packages according your criteria, because each of version contains various no of vm’s such like vsphere 6.0 contain 10000 to 20000 , vsphere 7.0 contain 20000 to 30000 such like that so we need to pay accordingly our requirement so i think the price can differ and anyone can afford it for small businesses

Daniel G.
Platform Specialist in USA
Informationstechnologie & -dienste, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
Herkunft der Bewertung

Our absolute standard for VM deployment and management

5 vor 3 Monaten

Kommentare: Overall it's great! Customer service is not the best in the business though.

Vorteile:

VMware is robust and powerful allowing us to create highly customized deployments of virtual environments for our clients. It requires a fair bit of learning to understand it's functionality (and not break anything), but once you master the basics, it's very easy to use.

Nachteile:

vSphere used to have a fat client to use for management, and later versions have since switched to a web app. I like the flexibility of the web app, but it can be a bit slow and cumbersome to use. I'd prefer to have a fat client I could use on my primary workstation.

Ibrahim B.
IT System Engineer in Vereinigte Arabische Emirate
Informationstechnologie & -dienste, 11-50 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

Vmware

5 vor 3 Monaten

Kommentare: I have had to work virtualization Vmware for 3 years. it's working well. I can manage all servers in one control.

Vorteile:

It's a virtualization product. it's most important on the IT infra side. it's cost-effective.

Nachteile:

Understanding difficult in Upgrading time and migration tome

Kevin M.
Kevin M.
IT Consultant/Lecturer in Trinidad und Tobago
Informationstechnologie & -dienste, Selbstständig
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
Herkunft der Bewertung

The best virtualizing solution

5 letztes Jahr

Kommentare: Vmware’s vSphere is one of those products that you despite its cost you will never feel like you made a bad investment buying. It gives me so many options when it comes to remote management of all the software I have running within the local ecosystem. What was really impressive was how we were able to demo newer enterprise software within a control environment giving us a perspective that we would have never had given the old software that was present. With the recent Corvid outbreak, we were actually able to implement VPNs and grant remote access without having to invest in new hardware.

Vorteile:

Stability and scaling were very important to me when choosing a solution to my problems. One of my clients had an old ERP software connected to an equally old version of SQL server. Pressed to upgrade and incorporate newer cloud base services I had to find something that could be used in the interim but could be shaped slowly to match our needs. I chose vSphere and it worked out very well. Having something that remote workers could access, that was stable and secure meant we able to weather the storm. The ESXi is easy to access as it is web based. Now I run all our servers on VMWare with an integrated remote cloud service for backup. Just the ability to preserve data stored in the vintage ERP alone was worth the cost.

Nachteile:

While the ESXi is easy to access its can be confusing at first. Its hard to focus on what you need to see as the interface is very cluttered. Also, Hardware requirements and licensing can be taxing. While it was critical to protect our data no matter the cost the costing and implementation still felt a bit excessive. There is also huge learning curve when it comes to using some of vSphere’s functions When incorporating it into your on-site datacenter you will definitely need to train your staff or hire an expert cloud technician to monitor and manage your cloud services.

Michael B.
Coordinator of Network and Technology Services in USA
Bildungsmanagement, 201-500 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

Vmware - The Virtualization Standard

4 vor 3 Jahren

Kommentare: VMWare... If you are virtualization, you've heard of VMware. The free options were a great way to get started, do some basic virtualization for those "silly" services that require a dedicated, standalone machine. Shrink 5 physical servers into one in no time. Then you want more big servers to do more. So you buy into VMware (at substantial expense), licenses lapse, or are difficult to renew (yes this happened, because the VARs couldn't process it right... nice huh? VMware was even involved and couldn't get it quite right). Soon you'll be all-in with VMware, modifying your hardware to meet current version requirements, nickle and diming your datacenter to keep costs low, when security budgets are the focus. You'll find yourself needing to do an upgrade to the VSphere, but not wanting downtime to do it, so you have to buy up to move it to another server in realtime, just to do updates. It gets a little silly. But, let's face it, nothing else comes close. I want VMware to have competition, but nothing else even touches it. HyperV? No. Anything else? Yeaup, there's a few opensource options, but it just cannot compete. VMware vSphere, when you need to virtualize something more than an old video game, it's pretty much where you have to be.

Vorteile:

VMware is what you NEED in Virtualization. It has differing feature sets (licensed), based upon your needs. It has an easy barrier of entry for those just getting their feet wet, and has powerful features that are nearly unmatched. If you have servers, if you have a datacenter, if you are in charge of "Stand Alone" applications, you are likely dealing with VMware, and there is a good reason for that. VMware works, and it works well.

Nachteile:

Not that VMware is not without flaws. The software works, but for some of us semi-whitebox server builders, we are forced to stay close to the hardware qualified lists. Or pay a premium for a pre-built machine that we pay even more in "maintenance." VMwares license tiers make it challenging to reach the more expensive, an often necessary options. VMware's partnerships with VARs are more important that with you as the customer. Expect to be treated that way, as VARs gobble up a large amount of costs, as quotes runaway from you. Just be prepared, VMware solutions do not come cheap. It's the best, and VMware knows it.

Yuri M.
Yuri M.
IT Infrastructure Specialist in Honduras
Verifizierter Nutzer auf LinkedIn
Telekommunikation, 5.001-10.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

Vmware Vsphere the best Hypervisor with rich features for every need

5 vor 2 Jahren

Kommentare: Well we have over 80% of our workloads virtualize with VMware vSphere. We haven't have a mayor issue with the virtual environment. We can optimize the investment of the infrastructure and also respond to the business needs quickly when there is need. The support it is also really great. If you have a active support, they help with any issue really quickly and with a good solution. I can sleep well knowing that the business services are support by VMware vSphere platform.

Vorteile:

Vmware vsphere its a really great hypervisor that can virtualize compute and storage resources right out of the box. I like the fact that you can easly manage the resources and create virtual machines in a intuitive way. The configuration of the storage connection is easy. It has great compatibility with just about any harware out there. We have at our organization more the 70 esxi host with different hardware vendors, but they all are compatible and I can migrate workloads with just a few clicks.

Nachteile:

Maybe the price of the licenses. If you work at a enterprise, maybe that it not a issue. But if you want to have all the cool feature, you will have to purchase the enterprise plus license. It can be a little expensive.

Shobhit J.
Consultant in Indien
Informationstechnologie & -dienste, 10.000+ Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

Best cloud computing and virtualization software

5 letztes Jahr

Kommentare: I am in Job profile as VMware adminstrator from.lst 8 years and I have implemented many clients solutions using VMware virtualization, it not only provides robust infrastructure but also High availability of infrastructure hosted over VMware. Features like HA, DRS, Virtual Switch makes its best available virtualization solution available.

Vorteile:

1.) User friendly web interface, easy options to browse and work on. 2.) Deployment is easy as well as all components are contained within vsphere appliance like PSC, VAMI, Database. 3.) Robust and can be easily integrated with third party applications and plugins like NetApp, EMC etc. 4.)Update manager is also integrated which cn be used to upgrade associated ESXi hosts, and components. 5.) Appliance updates are available over VAMI, thus no need to deploy patches seperately.

Nachteile:

I like the flash version of web interface which was removed in recent version, other that that I believe it's perfect.

Verifizierter Rezensent
Software Developer in Südafrika
Verifizierter Nutzer auf LinkedIn
Informationstechnologie & -dienste, 11-50 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

Cloud magic wand

4 letztes Jahr

Kommentare: When comes to server virtulazation vSphere is the best hypervisor solution and so easy to manage and consolidate your servers all in one place.

Vorteile:

When comes to setting up new servers or managing multi servers then vSphere is the magic wand to that time consuming process. You don't have to deal with finding space on a server rack or running around with cables doing network configuration. What I love the most is it's ability to have a server up and running within few minutes and also not worry which environment it will be running on. Having to run a lot of virtual servers in the cloud also reduce energy consumption of a datacenter and in case of power outage its easy to have everything back online even with a small generator or ups system.

Nachteile:

As technology is constantly moving so is the vSphere and then comes the dilemma that you cant click an upgrade button and have everything updated and without losing your configuration. Also when comes to physical hardware failure, you have greater chance of losing all your sever since everything will be one container so you will also need to have some form or redundancy or backup servers or mirror server which then sort of defeats the whole point of having less hardware requirements.

Aleksandr S.
Aleksandr S.
Principal software engineer in USA
Verifizierter Nutzer auf LinkedIn
Computer-Software, 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
Herkunft der Bewertung

Struggle to survive?

4 vor 8 Monaten

Kommentare: It is a great software, even masterpiece in some aspects. But it feels as it requires too much resources and money to be justified in the most of cases. Most of consumers aren't going need it especially as there are free alternatives.
Still one should carefully consider whether it is time for say Kubernetes or the company's requirements demands something bigger and more sophisticated.

Vorteile:

It still a well-known and - which is more important - widely adopted solution tightly coupled with other VMWare products. it is very easy to hire required specialist or get help. In 2019 VSphere did a huge step forward embracing Kubernetes as a first-class citizen. Implies very strict and much safier application (vm/containers - depends on the poin of view and scenario) separation. Para-virtualization sometimes delivers on it's promise to speed up containers.

Nachteile:

It is just way too huge without real benefits. Yes, it is offers a better separation of your components as every vm acts like separate computer. Yes, it is capable to run containers. Metrics are there, too and they are quite good. But. Do you really need it? There is much tinier alternatives . Kubernetes or Docker Swarm (can't recommend that one though) while being the solutions of a different class may still be enough for a vast major of scenarios. On top of that, vSphere is costly not in terms of licensing, it also requires a quite different hardware.

Ihab M.
IT Infrastructure Head in Ägypten
Bildungsmanagement, 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

Virtualization = VMware

4 letztes Jahr

Kommentare: We no longer have to worry about buying new physical servers. We have 2 HPE blades chassis and 2 HPE Synergy across 4 location. VM migration between data centers is very helpful.
hardware is being utilized at almost 85% and overall cost is certainly reduced.

Vorteile:

I have been using VMware for almost 12 years, day to day operations had never been so easy. easy implementation and administration. we converted 95% of our server to virtual machines. My favorites features are online migration, high availability and DRS .

Nachteile:

I didn't and still don't like the web interface, the old Windows application prior to version 5.5 was perfect and very effective. now with the new flash based interface is dissapointing. there is another HTML5 version but it lacks some features. i am hoping that they come up with a new version these days knowing that Flash plugins will no be longer supported.

Anthony M.
Sr Systems Admin in USA
Computer- & Netzwerksicherheit, 11-50 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

Redundant Personal Business Cloud with less Overhead

5 vor 2 Jahren

Kommentare: Overall the experience has been positive and we can't imagine going back to the days of physical servers for each of our server resources. The scale ability, portability, and redundancy are simply unmatched.

Vorteile:

When it comes to servers, hardware is expensive and often not completely utilized. With VMware vSphere, we were able to virtualize our entire development and production environment paired with three medium sized servers. This gave us scalability we never had. Our servers are pooled and share the pool resources allowing us to expand our environment to up to 35 servers running across the three servers. With vSphere we are able to have failover in the event one of the servers go down utilizing the vmotion feature without a single virtual server being interrupted. It allows us to do 90% more maintenance without a single disruption.

Nachteile:

The depth of knowledge to use the advanced features and scripting is intense. There are hundreds of individual features and settings that are very difficult to understand without the proper knowledge or training. Once you figure it out you won't go back.

Chris S.
Chris S.
Lead System Engineer in USA
Verifizierter Nutzer auf LinkedIn
Hochschulbildung, 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

I would choose no other virtualization platform

5 vor 3 Jahren

Kommentare: As an administrator for VMware-related hypervisors and products, I would choose no other hypervisor or virtualization platform to run in my datacenter.

Vorteile:

As a hypervisor, vSphere is and has been the best in class. They are always the first to come out with essential features (vMotion, vSwitch, etc.) and these features become daily used and reliable. I've administered hundreds of VMs over my career and have had little issue from vSphere as a hypervisor. Their feature set is phenomenal, and support is very good as well. Licensing can get costly, but there are several versions to fit your needs. What's perhaps more impresive is that as a platform, vSphere can be built into other VMware components (vCenter, SRM, vRealize, etc.) which keeps growing. Entering vSphere opens your datacenter up to a entrire world of virtualization products, and most third-party products that integrate with virtualization start with vSphere.

Nachteile:

It is easy to get up and running, but it can also get complex depending on what you want to do. It can also get costly if you cannot get discounts and need full feature set.

Verifizierter Rezensent
Systems Engineer in USA
Verifizierter Nutzer auf LinkedIn
Krankenhausversorgung & Gesundheitswesen, 10.000+ Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

Data center virtualization from the industry leader

5 vor 4 Monaten

Kommentare: We are 90+ percent virtualized on vSphere, and like many others, it is a game changer and huge money saver. With vSphere using vCenter, we manage our entire virtualized enterprise in a single pane of glass. We use it to provision compute and storage resources, monitor performance, get alerts, and manage VM DR.

Vorteile:

vSphere lets us virtualize nearly any Windows and Linux operating system we want, with a few exceptions such as AIX and Solaris, and manage virtualized resources across our enterprise spanning multiple data centers. It has multiple plugins for the storage we use (Dell EMC VxFlex, VMAX, etc). It is very widely adopted, so help is easy to find on the web.

Nachteile:

I don't have any significant complaint about the software itself, but VMWare support isn't as good as it should be, especially given its size. Since VMWare is integrated with lots of different OS's and storage, there seems to be a lot of finger pointing when we engage support, and it's hard to finally get to a competent support engineer. I will concede that when we call support, it is nearly always a complex issue.

Verifizierter Rezensent
Active Director Administrator in USA
Verifizierter Nutzer auf LinkedIn
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

A necessary tool for managing your Enterprise VMWare environment easily and quickly.

4 vor 4 Jahren

Vorteile:

VMotion feature to move live VMs between physical virtual hosts is so slick. This feature brought virtualized computing to the next level of functionality and availability. High-Availability: vSphere takes the great value of the free ESXI vmware host offerings and makes them enterprise-grade with High-Availability and vMotion (seamlessly ) Web/thick client (end of life for thick client) consoles available for convenient access to manage your vmware environment. They are well-designed and polished. PowerCLI automation is fully unlocked when used with vSphere, a powerful tool for gathering information and taking care of bulk tasks. A must-have skillset for VMware technicians.

Nachteile:

Pricing: It's not free, this is an enterprise solution that you must pay for, unlike ESXi virtual host software. VSphere thick client management console is end-of-life, has features and UI that I prefer over the web console.

Verifizierter Rezensent
CTO, EMEA in Israel
Verifizierter Nutzer auf LinkedIn
Informationstechnologie & -dienste, 201-500 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

They're the market leader for a reason, but so many features means complicated UX

4 vor 3 Jahren

Vorteile:

Every feature an hypervisor can offer - widest feature set and ecosystem to deliver the most comprehensive solution. They scale very well across all parameters: Cluster size, datastore size, VM count, fault tolerance at scale Etc. Their VSAN is great for ROBO deployments, as you get a single pane of glass for all layers (compute, network, storage) HA / DRS / VSMC are all excellent tools for improving availability of the applications that drive the business.

Nachteile:

Every feature means a complicated GUI, with way too many nobs to turn for a small deployment. They VSAN scales poorly in terms of ROI, as more often than not you need the All-Flash VSAN, which after 2-3 copies of the data yields low capacity at double or triple the cost of the (already expensive) Flash Media. Replication is nice but again limited in scale, works great in getting data off the ROBOs to the main datacenter but not scalable enough as a DR solution

Hector V.
Systems Engineer in USA
Bildungsmanagement, 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

Best Customer Support

5 vor 3 Jahren

Vorteile:

If you are looking for a central solution to consolidate your data center and all servers look no more. This is the best tool you can buy to do so, you can save money because you will use less hardware by virtualizing all your servers, you can adjust settings, or server specs on the fly, you can run hundreds of servers from the same console and you can manage all of them from the same. Wanting to do maintenance but dont know if that patch/update or upgrade will break the server, dont worry, you can take a screenshot and test it before you apply the fix to the server. The best part of this is their support, you can call them or submit a ticket and their team of experts will call back and help you. Really recommend this product to anyone wanting to consolidate servers and save money on hardware

Nachteile:

No complaints about this product, as long as you know how to browse and use the product

Verifizierter Rezensent
Sr. Systems Engineer in USA
Verifizierter Nutzer auf LinkedIn
Computer-Vernetzung, 11-50 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

Using VMware to Virtualize Your Systems

5 vor 3 Jahren

Kommentare: For years, I have been designing and managing systems using VMware products. Clients are very happy with their systems.

Vorteile:

Much, much better utilization of physical server resources. VMware hosts are MUCH better at resources sharing than anything Microsoft has ever produced. Take 4 systems, say email, DB, file & print, and authentication/AD, and put those all on 1 MS server. Or... take that same box, install VMware ESXi, and install 4 separate MS servers on top of that, each doing only 1 of those 4 tasks. You will get much better performance in the later configuration. Think about that: By adding an underlying OS (ESXi), and then putting 3 additional OSs (the other 3 MS servers) on top of that, you'll get better performance. And, of course, zero downtime for any physical maintenance in a multi host environment.

Nachteile:

Still not a big fan of the web interface for managing the vCenter and hosts.

Joshua C.
Joshua C.
Student in USA
Verifizierter Nutzer auf LinkedIn
Hochschulbildung, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

The Dream Environment for Managing your Virtual Network

5 vor 3 Jahren

Kommentare: Prior to transferring to my current school, my previous college used vSphere to help prep its team for the Pacific Rim Collegiate Cybersecurity Defense Competition (PRCCDC), and using it in that environment really demonstrates the power of the tool for virtualization of entire networks. Absolutely stunning tool in terms of features.

Vorteile:

VMware products in general are known for being the best of the best when it comes to virtualization, and vSphere is no exception. The benefits of an easy to manage virtual network are numerous, you save on space, energy, and overall costs. vSphere definitely focuses on ease of management; need to patch all your servers? Takes a fraction of the time that SSHing into each one individually would. Need to shut everything down, or boot everything up? The processes are streamlined for you. Want to deploy a new one? The process, if you don't want to clone an existing one, takes minutes.

Nachteile:

It has a very steep learning curve, mostly due to the learning curve involved in virtualization itself. You must be very experienced in virtualization in order to successfully use vSphere to its full potential... Or, at all, potentially. If you can't setup a virtual server and hit it from outside your network using VMware Workstation, you won't be able to use vSphere successfully.