Durchschnittliche Bewertung

  • Gesamt
    4,5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4,2/5
  • Kundenservice
    4,3/5

Über ETAP Software

Analyseplattform für die Planung, Simulation, Optimierung und Automatisierung von Erzeugungs-, Verteilungs- und industrielle Stromanlagen.

Erfahre mehr über ETAP Software

Zeigt 58 Bewertungen

Verifizierter Rezensent
Electrical Engineer
Öl & Energie, Selbstständig
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    4/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    4/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    5/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    10/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 12.5.2020

"User-friendly Electrical Modelling"

Kommentare: Etap is very useful for an electrical engineer, and is fantastic to model electrical systems. It allows you to complete many different types of studies, from load flow to arc flash, grounding, and many more. Certain modules are sold separately, such as the harmonic study and motor starting modules, which is fine, but can get expensive if you need all of them, but only sporadicly. Customer support has been pretty good, they will assist you when you have technical questions on how to model certain things, or if the library does not have a specific model of breaker, for example.

Vorteile: - Etap has a wide variety of equipment that can be connected
- The help function is very well put together, for every single user interface window
- Highly customizable for reporting

Nachteile: - Sometimes difficult to print a Single Line Diagram as intended
- VFDs typical show overloaded, even if the rating of the drive matches the motor, and that issue has not been resolved, as far as I know, even if it was pointed out several years ago
- Training from etap is a must to use the software properly, especially the case scenario options

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 12.5.2020
Radha krishna G.
Project Leader - Electrical
Öl & Energie, 201-500 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: 6-12 Monate
  • Gesamtbewertung
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    5/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    5/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    10/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 21.9.2019

"ETAP Software for Electrical Engineers"

Kommentare: I am working with Arc Flash Hazard Study to generate Arc Flash labels. Hence need to use Short-circuit, Protection co-ordination study software's as well.
I am very much impressed with the software builder keeping in mind the user flexibility and moreover libraries its tested and provides users on Electrical components like relays, breakers etc.,

Vorteile: User friendly, flexibility to open. Abundant library files for each electrical components like relays, circuit breakers, etc., Running the program and easy understanding of the analysis at the finger tip of the user

Nachteile: Hardlock dongle makes it difficult to enter the power plant in Middle east, instead it should have be software controlled dongle. In Middle east Power plants controlled by Military team it is not allowed to enter USB or pendrive or any external harddrive devices. Hence request to look into the solution of Software opening with softlock key. Even though some of Library files are available with ETAP team, it is not send as a whole package with the latest Software version, need to request the same through the ticket. When Arc Flash is running it takes couple of mins to come back to normal screen. Instead an progress bar display will help user to understand the estimated time to complete calculation.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von ETAP an 26.9.2019

Thank you for your great review and feedback. contact our local ETAP office to inquire about our soft key which is now available for installation without USB key. Also, the latest ETAP release has improved performance, but you may want to check our system requirements to make sure you get the best performance from ETAP. https://etap.com/software/sales/system-requirements

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 21.9.2019
Jim K.
SPSE
Non-Profit-Organisation Management, 5.001-10.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    3/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    1/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    4/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    3/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Nicht bewertet
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    5/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 23.9.2019

"Depends on what you are looking for in Power Systesm Software"

Kommentare: Power Systems issues. Wow this "survey" is really a "one size fits none" bit of work isn't it.

Vorteile: Flexibility, but it comes with some sever downsides

Nachteile: The user interface, both in getting data in to the software, and getting useable results back out.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von ETAP an 26.9.2019

Thank you for your review and feedback. Please contact our 24/7 HelpDesk if you need assistance with any interface matters. We do have a very comprehensive data exchange module (DataX) that provides a wide range of import and export options and interfaces with third party software (https://etap.com/packages/data-exchange). We also offer our Data Exchange Service (https://etap.com/services/data-exchange-services) if you need assistance with one-off import/export or interface projects.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 23.9.2019
Noor A.
Team Lead Engineering
Elektrische/elektronische Fertigung, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    4/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    5/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    4/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    8/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 13.9.2019

"12 Years of Experience with ETAP Software"

Kommentare: Overall, I'm a happy customer with ETAP software. Good work team ETAP! :)

Vorteile: There are a few things in ETAP that are actually very attractive. 1. The very attractive thing about ETAP is its user-friendly graphical interface which is very attractive with state of the art graphical symbols having both IEC and ANSI options selectable on simple clicks along with color coding according to voltage levels. This helps visually a lot in classifying one's systems based on voltage levels.
2. Help Desk support is an excellent feature with FTP support area for large file handling.
3. One click report generation with study/scenario wizards saves a lot of time for complex projects.

Nachteile: There are a few things in ETAP that are actually annoying sometimes. 1. First is the dumpster. Once you delete an element, you can't simply undo to restore it from dumpster. You need to be super smart to get it back. The undo / redo should be smartly management as in many other software. It will save a lot of hassle and time.
2. Backward compatibility is also a major concern. Projects created in newer versions can't be opened in older versions at all which is required sometimes to review the work of contractors. It should have some backward compatibility, say, to 4 previous releases.
3. Static studies such as load flow, short circuit etc do not consider turbine rating to generate alerts as the same is needed in some plants where turbines are under-rated than associated generators. No documentation is also available in this regard.
4. Library updates are also not available until next version is released. Limited models are available for ASD/VFD drives for harmonic studies even for very common drives. One has to create every common model manually which takes a lot of time.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von ETAP an 24.9.2019

Thank you for your feedback. As you know, as a seasoned user, ETAP is thriving to deliver the best product on the market. As a user with a valid maintenance contract you may contact our 24/7 online HelpDesk or call ETAP support to assist you with these issues. In regards to backwards compatibility please contact one of our local ETAP offices or representatives for support with older releases.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 13.9.2019
Prawit C.
Electrical, Control & Instrumentation Engineering Department Manager
Öl & Energie, 10.001+ Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    4/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    3/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    3/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    4/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    7/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 13.9.2019

"Comments for ETAP"

Kommentare: Good but something should be improved otherwise customer would seek for other brand.

Vorteile: User friendly and thus easy to use than any other power system analysis softwares.

Nachteile: Grounding system study is inferior than other competitor such as XGSLab, CDEGS. Main Ground Grid analysis of ETAP is suitable only for a simple soil condition. I experienced very difficult soil condition with resistivity in the range of 800-1500 Ohm-m which ETAP cannot help and Electricity Authority disapproved analysis using ETAP. Thus we have to seek for other software to solve the problem by modeling a customized grid conductor such as using clay covering bare copper conductor and analyze touch and step voltage.
Cables sizing calculation still has no capability to calculate according to IEC60287 standard which calculate from heat transfer theory. I have to purchase other software, CYMCAP, to calculate correctly. So ETAP is used for power system analysis only except cables sizing calculation and grounding system study.
Another cons is ETAP support. I experienced that sometime I found problem using ETAP in analyzing GCB, I asked ETAP for technical help but unfortunately EATP ignored my request and after several follow up I got a very simple words which is not any useful. I felt very bad with ETAP support team. I hope that ETAP support would be improved.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von ETAP an 23.9.2019

Thank you for your feedback. We take our customer feedback very serious and will work on making improvements wherever we can. Please look for our next release which will have considerable enhancements for cables, including IEC 60287, ground grid analysis, and many more.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 13.9.2019
Bruce A.
Executive Vice President
Versorgungsunternehmen, 13-50 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    5/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    5/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    10/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 17.9.2019

"Fabulous"

Kommentare: I have not seen or been exposed to any power systems software that can even come close to comparing to ETAP and the Enterprise Family of Solutions oriented Software.
I use Arc Flash, Transient Stability, Ground Grid, LDFL, Short Circ, STAR religiously

Vorteile: I have been using this software for 30 years.
I have been a ETAP Agent for 20 years.
I have not seen or been exposed to any power systems software that can even come close to comparing to ETAP and the Enterprise Family of Solutions oriented Software.

Nachteile: That is has taken so long to get key modules developed such as Panel and the Distance Relay.
It has cost me many oppertunities in sales.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von ETAP an 23.9.2019

Thanks you for your feedback. As the saying goes, "good things take time, greater things even longer"
Panel has been around since the earlier versions of our software. Distance Relay took a while to develop, verify, and validate since it does integrate with a lot of other analysis tools in our software suite. We also added a number of distance relays to our library which contain 1000s of settings and match the manufacturer 1:1. The module is now available and we have enhancements coming out in our next release ETAP 19.5.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 17.9.2019
Charles C.
Director of Engineering
Design, 13-50 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    4/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    4/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    4/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    9/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 24.9.2019

"Electrical Engineering Design and Analysis Tool"

Kommentare: I have 18 years experience with ETAP Software and compared to comparable software, I believe that ETAP has the most features they keep developing more features and tools to use.

Vorteile: Provides many of the engineering calculations for design and analysis of electrical power, protection and control systems in one software package. It is a necessity in providing our customers the best designs and arc flash analysis.

Nachteile: I have to set up my defaults and tools the way that I like to use them and display them when I get a new version. I would like ETAP to add L-G faults for 1-Phase center-tapped sources.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von ETAP an 9.10.2019

Thank you for your feedback and being a loyal customer. In regards to your feedback, you are right, we don't store defaults and setting separately, all settings are saved automatically in you project files. When you read your project your new release it will update your settings as well. You can always set up a project template, which you can use when starting a new project or upgrade to a new release. Please feel free to ask our 24/7 HelpDesk support team for assistance. You can also request new features or update to libraries by entering a ticket in our HelpDesk.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 24.9.2019
Anny M.
Superintendente protecciones
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    4/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    5/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    3/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    Nicht bewertet
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 23.5.2018

"I have been using the etap for short circuit, load flows and especially coordination of protection"

Vorteile: It has a large number of electrical equipment libraries that facilitate simulations. It is extremely practical when using the Star module, since when running the shortcuts it shows in a real way how they cut the protection curves, in the same way it shows in a very dynamic way the performance of the protection equipment (relays, fuses, contactors) in order and time in order to efficiently diagnose a coordination, existing or proposed.

Nachteile: Given the existence of several libraries, many users could be carried away by the data that has predefined the software and would not be motivated to look for the real field information, I have made simulations with both information to compare and give very similar, but can arrive tend to trust the user in case there may be data that does not match reality.
I have had several complications when updating the versions, since once I have updated the document to a latest available version, it does not allow me to open it in a previous version.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von ETAP an 23.9.2019

Our modules come with an alert view which will flag the results if they are outside of a certain percentage. This value is set by you and would be a way to check if the results are off. Unfortunately you can only open older projects in newer versions. This is because the library and sql database changes per release.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 23.5.2018
George W.
Owner
Öl & Energie, 2-10 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    5/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Nicht bewertet
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    10/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 18.9.2019

"Review of Etap Software from GW Engineering Inc."

Kommentare: I have used Etap for over 12 years and have used it for design, installation, and troubleshooting of many power generation systems over this period. These systems primarily include relay coordination, and protection schemes, arc flash, and motor starting. It is a great product.

Vorteile: Etap utilizes all of the components the model and integrates them all together so it is easy to go from one module to the next and still work with all data and information from other modules. "Star" systems is an example.

Nachteile: Alignment and viewing results on the one-line can get crowded but it can be edited to view only the critical information.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von ETAP an 23.9.2019

This can be resolved by using Auto-Build which is modeling based on a spacing rulebook. You can modify the rulebook to evenly space out all the elements in your one-line, allowing for a less cluttered view.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 18.9.2019
Frida L.
Engineer
Öl & Energie, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    5/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    4/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    5/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    10/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 18.9.2019

"A Happy ETAP User"

Kommentare: Overall experience has been good. We've experienced some troubles but we've always gotten the problem fixed by the customer support. We try to use ETAP whenever possible.

Vorteile: I like it the most how user friendly it is and that it gives me the comfort that the results are correct.

Nachteile: There are a certain things that are different in this software compared to others. E.g. there is no "save as", only "copy project to" and you have to open it afterwards (if you want to work on the new project). And copy - paste is different than in any other software. It doesn't bother me anymore, but it's weird.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von ETAP an 23.9.2019

We use "copy project to" instead of save as since SQL is installed locally on the machine which allows for faster performance. Copying the files directly disconnect the local database which is why we have this option instead.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 18.9.2019
Jaman V.
Electrical Consultant
Elektrische/elektronische Fertigung, Selbstständig
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    4/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    4/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    5/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    10/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 18.9.2019

"An User Pleasant Electrical Design Key"

Kommentare: 1) Electrical Design Validation (Switchgear/Transformer/Cable etc. Rating)
2) Protection Coordination
3) Personnel & Plant Safety thru Arc Flash

Vorteile: 1) Load Flow
2) Short Circuit
3) Motor Starting
4) Relay Coordination: Sequence Operation

Nachteile: 1) Harmonic Analysis - Result Difficult to Compare IEEE 519
2) Relay Coordination - Taking More Time to Prepare TCC
3) Not Having Feature to Change the TAG Nos. At A Time All Together (Like in Word Find/Replace)
4) Not Having Feature to Prepare Any Component Library User Friendly.
5) Not Having Feature to Change Model Component Symbols from IEC to ANSI or reverse all together at a time.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von ETAP an 4.12.2019

Thank you for your positive review and feedback. In regards to the items you pointed out in your review:

1) Harmonic Analysis:
The new plot manager introduced with Version 18 should make results easier to compare. Is there a specific feature that you think we should add?

2) Taking More Time to Prepare TCC
I would like to recommend trying our zones of protection viewer which sets the zones of protection and allows you to plot all the TCCs in one shot. The feature comes with protection device coordination.

3) Change TAG Nos. all at once:
Feeture for future release

4) Prepare Any Component Library User Friendly.
We have How-To tutorials
https://youtu.be/oD4Ox7xzVTE or reach out to our ETAP HelpDesk & ask them to create these models for you.

5) Change Symbols from IEC to ANSI or vice versa:
Select all the elements in your project, right-click and select symbol. You can then switch from ANSI and IEC symbols

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 18.9.2019
Mathew F.
Division Manager
Elektrische/elektronische Fertigung, 2-10 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
  • Gesamtbewertung
    4/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    3/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    3/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    3/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    8/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 13.9.2019

"Powerful Software"

Kommentare: Overall it has been positive. It would be nice to have more higher level courses in my area. It is powerful software and takes some getting use to.

Vorteile: Very powerful software. I like the reports that can be generated. The star graphs are really nice and look good in reports. I like being able to set up macros, it makes running multiple test cases a lot easier.

Nachteile: I do not like that I have to buy a ton of modules just to get one feature. The experience thus far has been that we buy some modules and start performing a study. The results are not what we expect just to find out we are missing one feature that is in another module that we didnt buy. There seems to be little features that are important to other studies that are hidden within other, more expensive, modules and generally we do not need the entire other module, but have to buy it because we need the one feature to complete the study. There are also some minor bugs such as not being able to have an NGR monitoring relay on a zig zag transformer. We also ran into an issue modelling a Y-Y transformer. The ETAP software does not allow for the consideration of the tank effect. These issues have work arounds but its hard to explain to a client that ETAP doesn't have this built in so we have to use a work around. I also do not like that there is no save as ability. The save a copy of the file is weird.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von ETAP an 25.9.2019

Thank you for your great review. Since many modules work hand-in-hand it is sometimes necessary to get modules that will not apply to the cor or your project. We will make sure our developers receive the information from your review, so your suggestions can be taken into consideration in future releases. Contact your local ETAP representative about alternative or temporary use of module you may only need occasionally. in regards to "Save As" try Shift S. Here is a link to all of our Short Cuts https://etap.com/support/etap-shortcut
Enjoy!

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 13.9.2019
Jen M.
Manager, power systems studies
Elektrische/elektronische Fertigung, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    4/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    4/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    4/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Nicht bewertet
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    7/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 12.9.2019

"Review"

Kommentare: The overall experience has been good, there are some features which could use some improvement (as mentioned above).

Vorteile: The software is easy to use and fairly intuitive.

Nachteile: There are often products that are not available in the library.
Formatting can be very tedious and time consuming despite some of the "auto" formatting options. Default settings need to be set up on a per project basis, this is both frustrating and time consuming.
Exporting information to excel could be so helpful but there is some info that can only be found in "reports" and when these are exported to excel they are formatted to reflect a report style not just raw data which makes it very difficult to use this data efficently if you are creating your own report.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von ETAP an 23.9.2019

Hello Jen, thanks for your feedback. Please contact our HelpDesk or our local office in Canada to assist with the issues you are describing in your review. We are happy to help and make using ETAP software a positive experience.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 12.9.2019
James (jim) E.
Consulting engineer
Bau, 13-50 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    4/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    3/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    4/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    4/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    4/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    10/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 17.9.2019

"ETAP Evaluation"

Kommentare: ETAP is great software. However, I feel some features are released before they’re ready and the user ends up doing R&D

Vorteile: Very technical; very inclusive with options

Nachteile: Written help features need greatly improved. Need more technical explanation of features available. Need more technical webinars to define modules

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von ETAP an 25.9.2019

Thank you for your feedback. We are working constantly to update our product documentation and training materials. Feel free to contact our Golf Coast office in Houston for assistance and training opportunities. You can also contact our HelpDesk 24/7 with any product questions or help with a project. Sign up for our next webinar in October.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 17.9.2019
Mariano M.
Senior Electrical Engineer
Erneuerbare Energien & Umwelt, 10.001+ Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    4/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    4/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    4/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    4/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    7/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 13.9.2019

"Good tool"

Kommentare: Good

Vorteile: Friendly environment and the help is also good

Nachteile: Better and more accurate grounding calculation

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von ETAP an 25.9.2019

Thanks you for your feedback and great review. Check out our latest Ground Grid enhancements in ETAP 19.5, which will be release soon. https://etap.com/19.5

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 13.9.2019
Danny G.
Ingénieur Électrique
Elektrische/elektronische Fertigung, 201-500 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    5/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    4/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    10/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 13.9.2019

"The best overall "

Vorteile: The 3-D Database is a base feature compared to CYME and SKM Powertools to manage scenarios.

Nachteile: Harmonic parameters for the utility have some limitations. I didn't find a way to set "lieux d'impédance" given by the utilty or his harmonic contribution for each harmonice frequence.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von ETAP an 25.9.2019

Thank you for your great feedback & review. Please contact our 24/7 HelpDesk to request assistance with this matter. We take customer feedback into account whenever possible to improve ETAP software. Opening a ticket in HelpDesk will escalate this issue to our R&D team if our support engineers can't find a solution to your problem.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 13.9.2019
Michel L.
Senior Protection Control Engineer/ Senior Power System Engineer
Versorgungsunternehmen, 10.001+ Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    4/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    4/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    4/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    3/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    8/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 17.9.2019

"Reliability of ETAP"

Kommentare: We worked on nuclear projects using ETAP. Reliability of the software is very important.

Vorteile: ETAP is easy to use and customized for different projects.

Nachteile: The database is not reliable when it is in large size. We had an experience of database corruption.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von ETAP an 25.9.2019

Thanks you for your review and feedback about your experience with ETAP software. ETAP software has to withstand the most rigorous V&V processes in order to comply to the high standards for the nuclear industry. 93% of US nuclear power plants are standardized on ETAP software. Contact our 24/7 support team to assist you with any issue you may encounter. Read more about ETAP in the nuclear industry https://etap.com/software/quality-assurance/etap-nuclear-power-generation-high-impact

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 17.9.2019
Ali S.
Principal
Bau, 2-10 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    4/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    5/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    2/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    3/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    7/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 24.9.2019

"A lot better than SKM but still not perfect "

Vorteile: I always enjoyed working with etap because of the quality of the software and accurate results.Plus the fact that the reports don't look like from a type writer the way SKM looks.

Nachteile: Recently they sent Costumer service for the Library for USA to India. This has caused a response time of 2-3 hours to get extended to 3-4 days and the professionalism of the staff in India is not to the US standards.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von ETAP an 26.9.2019

Thank you for your feedback and review. Since we offer 24/7 support, we utilize our support engineers around the globe. We take our customer's feedback very serious and always try to remedy any issues that surface. We hope that your next interaction with ETAP support will be positive and swift.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 24.9.2019
Sidney R.
Manager of Electrical Engineering
Metallabbau, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    4/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    3/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    4/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    4/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    4/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    7/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 24.9.2019

"Very good for heavy industrial power"

Kommentare: How power large motors on weaker power systems. Simulation of motor starting on large mobile machines. Determination of power quality impacts in the proposal stage. Performed alternate studies to verify alternate power system designs.

Vorteile: The ability to dynamically model wound rotor motor starting with a time variable liquid rheostat.
A good library of multifunction electronic relays.
A good library of electronic motor protection relays.

Nachteile: The library of basic TOC relays is not as complete as other packages.
A lot of additional modules to buy and pay maintenance on.
The wound rotor induction motor rheostat starting requires a chunk of calculations to get it in the form needed for ETAP. A lot of the ETAP trainers did not understand about wound rotor motor modeling and it took a while to get to the courses needed.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von ETAP an 10.10.2019

Thanks you for your feedback. Our support team is always available to assist with any issues you may run into. Should you find any libraries that are not available, just create a ticket in our 24/7 online HelpDesk and we will create them. In regards to any issues that go past the regular support questions, you can always escalate your case or contact your local ETAP sales engineer to assist. One of our research engineers for induction motors will get in touch with to assist with you questions.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 24.9.2019
Troy S.
Project Engineer
Öl & Energie, 501-1.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    4/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    4/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    4/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    3/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    9/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 20.9.2019

"ETAP Review"

Kommentare: Overall, ETAP is our go to software for Arc Flash Risk Assessment and makes it very easy for us to analyze and report on projects.

Vorteile: What i like about the software is that it is easy to use and update. We started using the ETAPApp so that field data collection is much faster and more efficient. Great addition to the software.

Nachteile: Large projects typically take a long time to run. We currently have a 4,200 bus model that takes more than 5 hours to analyze for Arc Flash

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von ETAP an 23.9.2019

Thank you for your feedback. Please contact our HelpDesk engineers and inquire about hardware specifications to speed up your calculations.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 20.9.2019
Giovanni P.
Senior VP
Öl & Energie, 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    5/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    4/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    10/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 3.1.2020

"ETAP Software Review"

Kommentare: While initially I started using it almost exclusively to conduct studies (such as Arc Flash, Dynamic motor start transient, harmonics etc.) I now routinely find it easier to generate a power model as part of my "design" efforts for a new project and take advantage of it to validate cable sizing, voltage drops, selecting/procuring properly coordinated protective devices and determining required AIC ratings before specifying new electrical gear.

Vorteile: It is probably the most widely used power modeling software so it is easy to share with other users. All of its functions and device editors are "extremely" thorough offering an almost overwhelming number of study customization options. Overall, its use if fairly intuitive (but there is no substitute for attending a good old fashion class if you are a first time user). The online tutorials are excellent and tech support is great too.

Nachteile: Like most software, ETAP does have some quirks that a user needs to learn either by peer coaching or through painful firsthand trial & error.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von ETAP an 5.3.2020

Thank you for your feedback and your great comments. There is a third way of learning ETAP software:
ETAP hands-on training in one of our training centers or at one of the over 100 training classes around the world.
Check out our workshop schedule at https://etap.com/events/events-schedule

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 3.1.2020
Douglas P.
Area Manager
Öl & Energie, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    5/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    4/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    4/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    8/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 13.9.2019

"Solid software and support"

Kommentare: We have used ETAP successfully for Arc Flash studies, cable thermal analysis, and grounding studies. The software overall performs well in all our scenarios.

Vorteile: The variability of the modules and options for running simulations are pretty extensive.

Nachteile: Some of the initial modules are expensive, and in general the functionality and setup are not as intuitive as I would like.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von ETAP an 23.9.2019

Thank you for your feedback. We are trying to improve and simplify the setup process with every release. Any suggestions are always welcome and you can provide feedback directly to our sales engineers or our online HelpDesk.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 13.9.2019
Hector antonio H.
ENGINEERING MANAGER
Öl & Energie, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    5/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Nicht bewertet
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    10/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 17.9.2019

"Satisfying ETAP experience."

Kommentare: The overall experience has been saytisfying, this software has proven to be very useful to run different types of studies in our field.

Vorteile: This software provides a very friendly interface and variety of tools that ease the process of design in our field. Also the customer service has always solved our questiones promptly.

Nachteile: Several features and tools are limited or restrained unless you purchase the full package.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von ETAP an 24.9.2019

Thanks you for your feedback. As you know ETAP is module based and is offered in many configurations. Modeling in ETAP is not restricted and you can create as many scenarios as you with. Analysis module need to be obtained as needed.
Please contact your local ETAP office to ask about adding modules to your existing package. There are a variety of different purchase and leasing options available.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 17.9.2019
Jack J.
Manager, Electrical Engineering
Öl & Energie, 10.001+ Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    2/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    2/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    4/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    4/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    5/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 24.9.2019

"Sometimes too complicated to use."

Kommentare: We are doing power modelling for projects

Vorteile: It is a great software. The final output product is very good.

Nachteile: 1. It is hard to use. It is hard to create a customized report and a customized border for the single lines. It's very hard to get our logo on the drawing let alone creating a general borer that could always be pulled up and the SLD would be inserted.
2. When we transfer files to customers, again it is not as easy as your competitor (Easy Power). Their software just save file and transfer. Your software you need to attach the library and ancillary files then transfer. Why is so hard.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von ETAP an 8.10.2019

Thank you for your review of ETAP software; we appreciate your feedback. Even though we are trying to make it as easy as possible to use ETAP, we also acknowledge the complexity of the software. To help our users we offer 24/7 support via HelpDesk, offer comprehensive hands-on workshops and, provide a large variety of tutorials and webinars on our website.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 24.9.2019
Kirk G.
Elect eng
Öl & Energie, 10.001+ Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    4/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    3/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    4/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    2/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    4/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    9/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 20.9.2019

"EMS Review"

Vorteile: Lots of good options, can be difficult to understand these options.

Nachteile: Must pay for each option, need training on these options..

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von ETAP an 23.9.2019

Thanks you for your feedback. Please contact our local ETAP representative in Canada to assist with pricing and any training you may need. We also provide a large number of training webinars and tutorials on our website.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 20.9.2019