Reprise License Manager Bewertungen

von Reprise Software

Filtern nach:

Average Ratings

  • Gesamt
    4.9/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4.5/5
  • Kundenservice
    4.9/5

About Reprise License Manager

Software-Toolkit, mit dem Softwareanbieter (ISVs) ihre Nutzern zum Verkauf angebotenen Produkte schützen, lizenzieren und aktivieren können.

Erfahre mehr über Reprise License Manager

Showing 44 reviews

James C.
Senior Software Scientist
Öl & Energie, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    4/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    9/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 16.10.2019

"Reprise RLM Suits our Needs"

Vorteile: Very flexible licensing model.
Easy to use API.
Very responsive technical support.

Nachteile: . .

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 16.10.2019
Steven S.
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    Unrated
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 18.2.2016

"RLM works well in all our current products, and gets few complaints from customers"

Kommentare: We have been selling connectivity software since 1989, and were using our own license enforcement until late 2010, when a customer recommended RLM as an improvement over our clumsy ad-hoc system. We sell to all size companies, from 1 user to 1000's of users, and RLM works well for all sizes. Pros: RLM is fairly easy to install: Simply download the package, follow the instructions, and link the resulting library into your application. The license files are text and rather compact, and one format supports both node-locked and license server models. The API has simple calls, but also more advanced ones. Using the simple calls, you pass the name of your application and its version number, and it returns a yes or no. If no, you can go into a demo or evaluation mode. Reprise is very good at customer service. They usually answer tech questions the same day. Cons: When we first signed up (in 2010), the RLM activation server was primitive and not usable, so we wrote our own. (An activation server distributes an license file with the customers hostid from a sales database when given an activation key.) Since then, they have released "Activation Pro", but we had already written our own, so I can't review that. We don't use their free product, but their paid product requires an additional annual fee for each architecture, and "Windows 32-bit" is a different architecture from "Windows 64-bit". If your customer runs your application on one architecture and wishes to run their license server on a different architecture, you have to purchase both. There is not a good API for querying license use, but there is a good web interface to the RLM license server. The Linux startup script for the license server (/etc/init.d/rlm) did not work well. It can easily shut down the wrong server if it's not configured correctly. We ended up making major changes to the Linux startup script. However, the Windows RLM license server starts up very well.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 18.2.2016
Lonnie C.
CTO
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    Unrated
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 18.2.2016

"Flexible, adaptable and transparent"

Kommentare: We've been using Reprise for our products' licensing for more than 6 years now. Their solution client-side is in the form of a library, and it is very transparent what it does and how it works. It is in a form that is highly flexible, so that when we have requirements or processes that are unique for us, it is possible to adapt. The transparency has also allowed us to develop much of our own back-office processes and automation, from license generation to activation, to salesforce integration, around the Reprise toolset. They have a diverse set of licensing options, only a subset of which we make use of, but we are able to offer our customers floating (site) licenses as well as individual licenses.
I've interacted with Bob many times, from advice on how to approach issues or client-specific problems, to addressing bugs, to implementation problems on my end. He's the expert, and I like being able to get right to the deep technical details immediately.
Because the client-side is essentially a library, much of the onus for the customer experience falls on us -- how our product's UI presents licensing interactions to the user. This is less turn-key than some other options, but as I said, it gives us total flexibility. I often feel that we could do a better job on our end. Where there are areas where ERs on their end can help, I know I have a receptive ear, and have seen several of my requests implemented over the years.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 18.2.2016
Tom G.
Director (Software)
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    Unrated
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 20.2.2016

"Very happy with our choice"

Kommentare: Having reviewed several alternatives about four years back, we can now look back and say we are very glad that we chose RLM. We short-listed Reprise and Flex, as our customers and developers were familiar with Flex, and both had the features we were looking for. During the evaluation period, the Reprise people were soooo much easier to work with, and have been great ever since. Our experience was with Flexera in Australia, and Reprise in USA. Our customers are all over the world, and their feedback in implementing RLM in their IT environments has been good.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 20.2.2016
Erwin D.
CEO
Computer-Software, 2-10 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    5/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    4/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    5/5
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    8/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 11.9.2019

"Software licensing for the Photonics Design Automation Software"

Vorteile: Flexible company - good technical support

Nachteile: It is difficult to read and understand the documentation

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 11.9.2019
Keith P.
Sr Software Developer
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    Unrated
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 18.2.2016

"Code level license integration made easy"

Kommentare: RLM is an effective tool which programmers and sales groups can use to eliminate proprietary product licensing and license management. Building a product is challenging enough without having to factor in the cost of sustaining custom licensing code and license generation software. RLM does all that and more. Need support for network licensing? RML does it. Need support for licensing renewal and expiration? Look to RLM. Cons? You have to spend a bit of time understanding licensing to realize the complexity of the task required to turn you own licensing solution. The same is true when you want to integrate RLM. You have to decide what features you need and then later branch out to use many of their more advanced offerings. The learning curve on concepts like license sharing, or detached licenses can be high at first. Once the concepts are understood the value is readily apparent. Great product, solid well thought offering, responsive support group.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 18.2.2016
Andrew P.
Lead System Architect
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    Unrated
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 18.2.2016

"Great product"

Kommentare: We use RLM in our desktop products and have been very happy with it. It didn't take us long to get it up and running (though we went a step or two further and built a nice C++ wrapper on it -- you certainly don't need to do that if you don't want to) and whenever we need support, Reprise is quick & prompt with the help (usually situations involving odd customer networking setups when they're trying to use a floating license server). Perhaps most important, we've found RLM to be of the category of 'fire and forget'. We implemented it in our software, verified it, and have had to do almost nothing since to keep it up & running. Every so often we'll upgrade to a newer version, which means compiling some binaries and putting them in the proper place so our in-house licensing system (which sits on top of RLM) can do its thing, but that's basically a couple of hours of work We upgrade to the latest version every couple of years, so this is pretty minimal.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 18.2.2016
Jim R.
VP Product Development
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    Unrated
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 19.2.2016

"Excellent, flexible licensing solution backed by exceptional customer support"

Kommentare: We have been a customer of Reprise's for many years and have found their solution to be technically excellent. As a new company, they delivered a robust product from the onset and have incrementally continued to improve. Some of the pros are:
- supports many licensing models--trials, stand alone, network and mixtures.
- flexible binding to various host/system ids
- a fare pricing model to fit smaller businesses
- very quick to respond to technical support and provide solutions
- easy to use management and troubleshooting tools
Cons are minimal:
- not as plug-and-play as some solutions (e.g., requires compilation and more coding to integrate)
- .NET wrappers are fairly basic and non-object oriented
I would recommend RLM without hesitation.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 19.2.2016
Aamir M.
Head of Products and Business Solutions
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    Unrated
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 18.2.2016

"Reprise License Manager is an excellent product"

Kommentare: We researched several license management products before selecting Reprise as the licensing server for our commercial enterprise software product. Reprise was the clear winner in terms of features and cost. Our developers had no complaints against Reprise while integrating it into our complex code base. We have not run into any limitations with the Reprise software, despite having complex and varied software licensing control requirements . The product is very stable and works well in enterprise multi-data center deployments with high availability or DR requirements.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 18.2.2016
Paul M.
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    Unrated
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 18.2.2016

"Advanced features, easy to implement, great customer support!"

Kommentare: We've been using RLM since version 1. Version 12 at the time of this review, Reprise continues to add interesting and useful features, many of which are based directly on customer feedback. It has a simple and straightforward API, but you can add advanced features as you need them with a bit more effort. They also have an Internet activation add-on called Activation Pro that we don't use because we built our own Internet activation on top of RLM. The pricing is is very reasonable and the customer support is stellar.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 18.2.2016
Heikki L.
Developer
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    3/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    Unrated
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 19.2.2016

"Powerful software licensing solution"

Kommentare: We use RLM in licensing various software products. RLM allows us to provide professional and flexible licensing scenarios for our needs. Pros: License activation can be done using activation, file-based licensing or network licensing using license server. Activation server can be hosted on own server, which allows tight integration with internal systems, such as CRM. Cons: When implementing RLM it takes some time and patience to read and understand all documentation. However, once all details are configured correctly, RLM works perfectly.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 19.2.2016
Anith M.
Technical Lead
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    3/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    Unrated
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 19.2.2016

"Powerful licensing software. Could be made a little easier to use"

Kommentare: Pros- The software is very powerful. Has a lot of features, which covers most licensing cases. Their support is very good. They respond really fast. Included sample programs cover a lot of ground and can be used as a template. Cons- The documentation is vast. Their quick start guide could be made a lot simpler, especially with regards to the license servers. Some screen shots and diagrams would help. It is also a little outdated. A good help website would go a long way as compared to having to sort through the large PDF manuals.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 19.2.2016
Douglas C.
Senior Programmer/Analyst
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    Unrated
  • Kundenbetreuung
    4/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 19.2.2016

"Flexible Software for Multiple Licensing Needs"

Kommentare: The RLM software can handle numerous licensing needs, including locking a product to a specific machine, limiting the amount of time a product can be used, and if desired setting up a license server. Keep in mind that this is software intended to be used by other software engineers. So it's not a product like Microsoft Word or Quicken where you just install it and it's ready to be used. It takes a little work, including changing your own code to use it, but once all of that's done, it's pretty robust.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 19.2.2016
Alec S.
President & CEO
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    Unrated
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 18.2.2016

"We are very pleased with RLM providing software protection for our products on Linux64."

Kommentare: At Fintronic USA, Inc. we are using RLM for software protection since October 2014, and we are very happy with it. RLM is product with numerous advanced capabilities and yet easy to use. Customer support is knowledgeable and helpful. A negative aspect could be that Reprise Software is a small company and if it disappears overnight we will have some problems. However, a big positive is that it is a small company and we get knowledgeable customer support and personal interaction at all levels.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 18.2.2016
Patrick B.
Manager, Product Development
  • Overall Rating
    4/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    Unrated
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 24.2.2016

"A Welcome Change from Other Licensing Products"

Kommentare: We've switched our license product from FlexNet and are extremely happy with the customer support. While the initial cost is a little painful, it's more manageable over time, and the improvement in support, operation and feature set will be worth the expense. We're also implementing Activation Pro to improve our own customers' experience. It takes a little extra effort to integrate with customer sales and support pipeline, but we believe it will eliminate some headaches for both customer and vendor.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 24.2.2016
Bob M.
President
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    Unrated
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 19.2.2016

"Reprise offers sophisticated license management for small vendor"

Kommentare: Being a small business that sells software to large customers who use licensed products from a large vendor, we were looking for a license manager that is cost effective and provides capabilities which are competitive with other well know license management software. Our primary use is networked floating licenses. We have now been using RLM for six years and are very satisfied with the product and the support. There are regular updates to the product. Reprise responds quickly to any problems.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 19.2.2016
Michael M.
Sr. Software Engineer
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    Unrated
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 18.2.2016

"Strongly Recommend RLM"

Kommentare: We switch to RLM several years ago and have been quite happy. The evaluation, conversion of our licensing models (to the RLM paradigm) and code was quite straightforward. Representing all licensing policy in the customer's license file is a powerful advantage over other licensing packages We have found the RLM software (both standalone and networked license server) to be very reliable and capable of meeting our needs. Reprise support is a real bonus: very responsive, detailed and professional.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 18.2.2016
P V.
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    Unrated
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 19.2.2016

"RLM is a great software thats flexible, reliable and economical"

Kommentare: RLM is a great software for ISV like us (www.tetcos.com) who sell high end simulation software with complex configuration options. RLM provides the means to handle all the complexity in terms of versions, libraries, internet activation, time bound licenses, floating, node lock etc. The price of the software is affordable and we have not faced any major licensing issue for more than 8 years now. Their support team is highly knowledgeable and respond in quick time.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 19.2.2016
Charles M.
Director of Development
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    Unrated
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 18.2.2016

"Excellent"

Kommentare: RLM is a very flexible and secure product. We were looking to replace our self-developed licensing system without losing any current features. With RLM, we were able to meet all of previous licensing features as well as add new capabilities such as auto-updating that our users very much appreciate. RLM's support is very responsive and was a big help in integrating their licensing system throughout our large product suite.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 18.2.2016
Jon P.
Senior Research Engineer
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    Unrated
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 19.2.2016

"Great company. Great product"

Kommentare: Using Reprise for our licensing solutions has helped us focus on our craft without having to worry about dealing with the pesky details that aren't our specialty (product licensing). The RLM software suite has provided the functionality we required with a professional and user-friendly interface. We have a great and long-standing relationship with Reprise. Customer service is timely and professional.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 19.2.2016
Gene S.
Senior Software Developer
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    Unrated
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 18.2.2016

"Reprise provides a great toolkit for licensing your software"

Kommentare: We switched over to using Reprise License Manager ~ 4 years ago. The product was easy to use and flexible in meeting our licensing needs. We use it both in a single install type configuration as well as a more complex multi-user network environment. Very few issues so far have been encountered and the few issues we have had are promptly addressed. Very pleasurable to work with as well.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 18.2.2016
Rod B.
V.P.
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    Unrated
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 22.2.2016

"Powerful, easy-to-use, and well-supported license manager software."

Kommentare: We switched over to RLM from another license manager vendor about 10 years ago and we have never looked back. We were an early adopter of RLM in the upstream petroleum industry and integrated RLM easily into both Fortran and Java products. We have always had excellent support and our end-customers have had very few problems with license administration of our software.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 22.2.2016
Rand H.
Senior Research Software Engineer
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    Unrated
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 18.2.2016

"It works well."

Kommentare: We've been using RLM for the past last 4 years and we haven't had a problem with the system. On a couple of occasions we had to ask customer services for how to accomplish something obscure, and always received excellent and fast responses. It does what it should, allows for lots of additional functionality, and stays current with the changes to operating systems.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 18.2.2016
Paul B.
Director
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    Unrated
  • Kundenbetreuung
    4/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 22.2.2016

"Solid and flexible"

Kommentare: We are a niche software vendor in the Oil & Gas industry and have been using RLM for nearly six years. Previously we used a combination of dongles and a home grown network licence manager. We were able to incorporate our exising dongles into RLM so our clients can have any combination of dongle based, host based or server based licensing.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von Reprise Software an 1.3.2016

Thanks Paul.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 22.2.2016
Paul S.
VP Sales
  • Overall Rating
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    Unrated
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Unrated
  • Likelihood to Recommend
    Unrated
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 18.2.2016

"RLM a boost for sales"

Kommentare: The RLM license manager offers our company the ability to mass-distribute evaluation copies of our applications, as wells as offering customers a variety of licensing options (floating, Named users, Node-Locked). After more than 5 years extensive use and virtually no customer complaints, I can highly recommend this licensing system.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von Reprise Software an 1.3.2016

Thanks Paul.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 18.2.2016