Intuitive and adaptable CMS

Bewertet am 17.10.2019
Lacey G.
Content Designer
Bürgerliche & soziale Einrichtungen, 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
Quelle des Nutzers 
5/5
Gesamt
5 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
4 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
4 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Vorteile: Contensis has made it much easier for us to create content tailored for the various services in our large organisation. We have a mixture of transactional and commercial services that need a totally different look and feel and we have been able to build components to suit these different needs. Content types and entries are really useful and have saved us a lot of time for repetitive content such as listing out hundreds of car parks!

Nachteile: It would be useful to be able to bulk edit or move content. It would also be good if the approvals process could be improved as we have content editors and approvers in our organisation so this is something we use a lot.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von Zengenti an 24.10.2019

Hi Lacey,

Thanks for your feedback. I'm glad to hear that content types and entries have made it easier for you to manage large collections of content. Listing hundreds of car parks is the kind of scenario where well-structured content really comes into its own!

I'd like to hear more about your experience with the approvals workflow. Could you put any improvements you'd like to see in the suggestions channel in the Contensis Slack workspace?

Thanks,

Si Horan
Chief Product Officer

Excellent value CMS and hosting package

Bewertet am 17.10.2019
Gareth B.
Wen Developer
Hochschulbildung, 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Quelle des Nutzers 
5/5
Gesamt
4 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
4 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
3 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
5 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Kommentare: The strong workflow enables different groups of users to edit individual sections with varying levels of approval. Has enabled us to reduce the number of pages on the site and increase the quality while maintaining a high degree of control and flexibility.

Vorteile: Strong workflow, excellent visual previewing, excellent image API, good development direction, good custom extensibility.
The Management API enables us to import content from other systems simply and effectively.
The move to content modelling, with a Delivery API has opened up possibilities for displaying content in multiple formats (we are currently exploring an Alexa Skill).

Nachteile: Page editor can be fiddly for new users.
Recent switch to content modelling is still lacking some of the features of the page model and the two do not interact fully (more of an issue for existing sites).
The old style page templates make it harder to change the site design (not an issue using content modelling).
The backend error logging needs better severity labelling.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von Zengenti an 28.10.2019

Hi Gareth,

Thanks for your great review.

It would be good to catch up about the content modelling features you feel are missing from the product it may be that these are on our open roadmap. Maybe we could chat at Velocity next week?

I'd also like to hear what you're thinking of doing with the Alexa skill at the university, it sounds like a great use of the Delivery API.

See you soon,

Si Horan
Chief Product Officer

Easy to use but no instant publishing

Bewertet am 18.3.2019
Gemma wilks D.
Web Designer
Hochschulbildung, 5.001-10.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Quelle des Nutzers 
4/5
Gesamt
5 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
4 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
5 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
3 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Kommentare: I use Contensis everyday as part of my job. Overall, I've really enjoyed using Contensis. It does what it needs to do and there aren't (for me personally) any serious limitations. There are a few functions I've still not had the time to have a play with yet, such as AB Testing, but it's on my list. Overall, I'd recommend the system.

Vorteile: Really intuitive interface. It's actually nicely designed too - there are so many UIs out there that are dated and boring - Contensis is quite nice.

Nachteile: Contensis doesn't have instant publishing. I know some of our editors find it frustrating that their content doesn't publish as instantly as WordPress, for example. Contensis doesn't work on my mobile which I find irritating when I'm out and about and notice an error I'd like to fix.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von Zengenti an 3.5.2019

Hi Gemma,

Thanks for your great review. I'm glad you enjoy using Contensis and like the UI - we're working on ways to make it even better.

Unfortunately the publishing speed of web pages is limited by FTP, as we publish actual files to the web servers. This is one of the reasons we introduced content types and entries with the Delivery API. Because the Delivery API doesn't rely on FTP, content is published immediately and can be delivered using front-end technologies like React.

You'll be pleased to hear we're working on mobile responsiveness as we refactor the Contensis UI.

Regards,

Si Horan
Chief Product Officer

Contensis is a flexible tool for creating and maintaining websites

Bewertet am 19.3.2019
Dave R.
Application Operation Team Leader
Hochschulbildung, 5.001-10.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Quelle des Nutzers 
4/5
Gesamt
3 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
4 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
5 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Vorteile: - flexibility: Contensis allows a variety of technologies to be used on our website
- ease of use: non-technical people can be trained to use Contensis quickly
- support: Zengenti respond quickly to any calls we raise
- we can use standard templates for branding purposes but users still have the freedom to do what they want within the constraints on the template

Nachteile: - the infrastructure needed to run Contensis and the website is complicated
- the support system used by Zengenti, where bugs are found, reported and fixed but only when you upgrade to a new version is difficult to use on a website our size, as every upgrade requires considerable resource for testing before we can go live with it

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von Zengenti an 3.5.2019

Hi Dave,

Thanks for your review. I'm glad you've found Contensis easy to use.

We recognise that Contensis has become increasingly complicated to host on-premise. This is one of the reasons we are making new releases of Contensis cloud-only. Running Contensis in the cloud will let us use cutting-edge technologies that our customers might struggle to support on their own infrastructure. And, eventually, it will also allow us to make Contensis versionless - meaning bug fixes and incremental improvements will be released automatically.

Regards,

Si Horan
Chief Product Officer

A content management system for the modern age

Bewertet am 30.4.2019
Phillip N.
Digital Officer
Staatsverwaltung, 5.001-10.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Quelle des Nutzers 
5/5
Gesamt
5 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
5 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
4 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
4 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Kommentare: We've been with Zengenti and using Contensis since 2015 now and it's been a really good experience. They're always looking for innovative ways to make content creation easier and more flexible for the end user.

Vorteile: Ease of use really. We've had a history of really realllly bad content management systems so to get one that just works is good. It's a really flexible system and how one organisation uses it to the next is completely different. We want to utilise the new content type and entries feature now which flip the script on how we create content in future so we're excited to see what Contensis will do next.

Nachteile: Probably the fact it isn't open source but it isn't really a deal breaker in truth.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von Zengenti an 13.5.2019

Hi Phillip,

Thanks for your great review. It's brilliant to hear that you and your team see the value in content types and entries. There are some really exciting features coming in the next couple of Contensis releases that I'm sure you'll be keen to try out as well.

Look forward to catching up with you at our next community event,

Si Horan

Chief Product Officer

Flexible / Friendly to use

Bewertet am 1.5.2019
Jaroslav F.
C#/.net developer
Elektrische/elektronische Fertigung, 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Quelle des Nutzers 
5/5
Gesamt
5 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
5 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
5 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
4 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Kommentare: Professional team is helpful as well as some good community support running on slack. We have been through ups and downs while working on a big project while a new contensits version was being developed/launched. Now we past that, we have one good, stable and reliable CMS.

Vorteile: Great for editors as no html knowledge is required when dealing with entries.
Very flexible product that can do all we need. Easy integration with our systems.

Nachteile: local dev copy in VS is sometimes slow when building solution.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von Zengenti an 21.5.2019

Hi Jaroslav,

Thanks for taking the time to review Contensis and for being so engaged with the Contensis community. I know you're always ready to help other Slack users with advice and feedback whenever you can.

The work you and the rest of the team at Domino do alongside our technical consultants and services team has really driven Contensis forwards - especially the multilingual features of the product.

Thanks again,

Si Horan
Chief Product Officer

CMS with functionality and ease.

Bewertet am 15.4.2019
Brad E.
Senior Digital Services Officer
Staatsverwaltung, 5.001-10.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Quelle des Nutzers 
5/5
Gesamt
5 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
5 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
4 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
5 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Kommentare: I've been a user of contensis for around 7 years and have had an overall great experience using the software.

Vorteile: The layout for contensis is very simplistic and can train other users how to use basic webpage editing .

Nachteile: Form posts are extremely unreliable when sending them to an inbox. 95% of the time they are received, the others are missed and no way of finding out why this happens.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von Zengenti an 30.4.2019

Hi Brad,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's great that you and your users are finding Contensis easy to use. I know that you've been working with Mark in our product team to resolve the issue you've had with form post notifications not being received and that he added audit logging to your forms module to gather more information. I've asked him to take a look into the logs we have so far to see if he can find the root cause.

Regards,

Si Horan
Chief Product Officer

I want to love Contensis but we keep falling out

Bewertet am 15.4.2019
Matt J.
Production Manager
Hochschulbildung, 5.001-10.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
Quelle des Nutzers 
4/5
Gesamt
4 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
4 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
3 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Kommentare: It shows much promise and some things work great, but some things do not and they grind at you until you fear you may get to a point where you cannot see past this little niggles. Communication within the Zengenti support team seems to be problematic. Sometimes we have to explain our issues over and over again until everyone is on the same page.

Vorteile: Powerful and flexible.
Track changes, full version control with side by side comparison, audit trail.

Nachteile: It doesn't do everything it is purported to do. Some things don't work as advertised (eg. some administrative functions).
Slow load time in authoring environment.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von Zengenti an 20.6.2019

Hi Matt,

I'm sorry Contensis hasn't worked as you expected. As you know, we did a considerable amount of bespoke work to make your instance of Contensis suit the specific needs of the University of Waterloo.

There's a chance that a lot of these changes were outside the experience of the staff in our support team.

I know that Alex in our product team has been working with you to make further custom changes to your CMS, so hopefully your experience of Contensis will be more in line with your expectations.

With regards to your slow loading authoring environment, this isn't something we recognise as a problem for other clients and we will discuss this in more detail with you during our next scheduled account call.

If you have any further concerns in the meantime, please don't hesitate to contact me directly.

Regards,

Si Horan

Chief Product Officer

Contensis in use at a Local Council

Bewertet am 17.10.2019
Steve H.
Business associate - Web development
Staatsverwaltung, 5.001-10.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Quelle des Nutzers 
4/5
Gesamt
4 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
3 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
4 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
4 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Kommentare: Contensis has been a great solution to meet most of our needs as a local authority as a CMS product. Good company with helpful friendly staff and good customer service. They have regular meetings and user groups to take feedback about the product and notify people of upcoming roadmap changes.

Vorteile: Good CMS solution for creating corporate or partnership websites. Allows for internal development of multiple sites building your own designs and templates. Constantly developed solution that is updated and new features added on a regular basis.

Nachteile: Too much technical development knowledge required for some of the newer features such as content types. The forms solution needs more development work compared to competitors who offer low code solutions.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von Zengenti an 28.10.2019

Hi Steve,

Thanks for your feedback.

We have put together workshop packages for some of our other customers to get them up to speed with building sites using content types and entries.

Our consultants can run these either as a regular remote session or condensed into several days of on-site training at our offices.

If you're interested, Steve will be able to give you more information.

Thanks,

Si Horan
Chief Product Officer

Contensis Review

Bewertet am 17.10.2019
Jake S.
Digital Solutions Architect
Staatsverwaltung, 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Quelle des Nutzers 
4/5
Gesamt
4 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
4 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
5 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
4 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Vorteile: We recently upgraded to version 11 of the software and found the switch over very good, the ease of use for users is extremely good, we have a lot of content that is added daily and we have very few issues coming to our team.

Nachteile: It can be buggy at times, the analytics/QA doesn't seem to work currently

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von Zengenti an 28.10.2019

Hi Jake,

Thanks for your feedback. I'm glad your upgrade went smoothly. It's great to hear that your team is finding Contensis easy to use and that it's helping with your content workflow.

Do you mind responding to this email with details of the issues you're having with the Quality Assurance module? I'll try to get to the bottom of the problem.

Regards,

Si Horan
Chief Product Officer

MCP review

Bewertet am 18.3.2019
Russell K.
Systems Manager
Transport/Güterfrachtverkehr/Schienenverkehr, 13-50 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Quelle des Nutzers 
4/5
Gesamt
3 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
4 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
4 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
4 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Kommentare: We have a very good working relationship with Zengenti management and technical staff.

Vorteile: The ability to embed the Contensis pages into our application and also share the security realm from our application.
Also used to develop our Web site and Knowledge Base (for documents etc).

Nachteile: Desktop tools for WebDav functionality has been troublesome.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von Zengenti an 3.5.2019

Hi Russell,

Thanks for your review - MCP is one of our oldest and most valued customers. It's great that you continue to get so much out of Contensis.

I'm sorry you're having trouble with the desktop tool. I'll try to get the bottom of the issue.

All the best,

Si Horan
Chief Product Officer

Always around to help solve an issue

Bewertet am 15.4.2019
Tara S.
Communications Coordinator
Öffentliche Ordnung, 201-500 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Quelle des Nutzers 
4/5
Gesamt
5 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
4 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
5 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
5 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Vorteile: I have started using content types and entries and find that very easy to use and feel that I have more autonomy to create engaging pages.

Nachteile: Some of the language used in the settings tools are jargonistic and not always easy to understand

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von Zengenti an 30.4.2019

Hi Tara,

Thanks for your review. I'm glad you're finding content types and entries easy to use. Usability was our top priority when we developed these features.

We are constantly looking at refining microcopy in the UI. We would welcome any suggestions on areas that can be improved in our Slack suggestions channel.

Thanks again,

Si Horan,
Chief Product Officer

Solid CMS especially for universities or councils

Bewertet am 6.11.2018
Verifizierter Rezensent
Sole Trader
Internet, Selbstständig
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Quelle des Nutzers 
5/5
Gesamt
5 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
5 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
5 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
5 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Vorteile: Used it for many years. Found it easy to use with many features. based on ASP.NET and you could write custom code sraight into the CMS. Great user support. Getting better year on year.

Nachteile: Some of the add-on functionality that we paid for, over and above the core product, was not up to scratch at the time.

Contensis

Bewertet am 18.10.2019
Miles N.
Ecommerce Content Manager
Bildungsmanagement, 5.001-10.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: 1-5 Monate
Quelle des Nutzers 
3/5
Gesamt
2 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
2 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
Kundenbetreuung
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Kommentare: Laborious

Vorteile: version control is good
preview mode also good

Nachteile: Not user friendly or intuitive
get punished for inputting HTML code
pages/assets fail to get updated despite being published
can only edit one page at a time
error messages aren't always helpful at troubleshooting issues