Durchschnittliche Bewertung

  • Gesamt
    4.5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4.3/5
  • Kundenservice
    4.1/5

Über VirtualBox

Plattformübergreifende Virtualisierungsanwendung, mit der du mehrere Betriebssysteme gleichzeitig auf einer Maschine ausführen kannst.

Erfahre mehr über VirtualBox

Zeigt 487 Bewertungen

Sébastien L.
Directeur
Computer-Software, 2-10 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    5/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    Nicht bewertet
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    5/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    10/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 22.3.2019

"Real Problems No Longer Feel Real Inside a Perfectly Replicated Virtual System with VirtualBox"

Kommentare: Thanks to VirtualBox, I have been able to test different systems under controlled conditions. I was able to quickly test the minimum requirements of specific applications by simply changing the settings affecting the virtual machine before using it. It has also allowed me to get comfortable with other operating systems that I don't use regularly and to open native applications flawlessly as opposed to trying to emulate those with an incompatible system. It has saved me many times when deploying destructive scripts for testing purposes that would otherwise have wiped out my real hard drive or infected my machine directly. I feel this is a very well built software and I would be confident in recommending its use to anyone who is looking into virtualization.

Vorteile: The ability to install almost any operating system with great support for USB, ACPI and SMP without the risk of breaking the machine that is being used for virtualization is a strong advantage of VirtualBox. Apart from the fact that it is free and backed by a legendary company, one of its great features resides in the guest additions, which makes it possible to get better performance and communication with the host, such as adding drag & drop and copy/paste abilities. It also supports a wide range of hardware and has always worked very well for my testing purposes as long as enough memory and CPU can be allocated to the virtual machine without affecting the host. Because it is also possible to take snapshots of the virtual machine at any point, it is easy and convenient to test almost anything without having to reformat and waste many hours to set things up again: it suffices to go back in time to retrieve a working version of the instance. I use it mainly on Linux machines, but its great portability and cross-platform nature is an asset when it comes to deploying it on other systems.

Nachteile: When not used to the software, it is confusing why some functions might not be available without the guest additions. On some systems, using a desktop environment with fixed sized windows may distort the aspect ratio of the virtual machine. Instead of auto-scaling, it is then necessary to switch the window into "floating mode" to resize manually. Depending on the resources available, the virtual machine will certainly feel slower than the host, especially with no hardware acceleration. By the nature of virtualization, one needs a lot of system resources to take full advantage of both the host and the virtual machine at the same time. On the positive side, it is easy with VirtualBox to adjust the resources allocated to the virtual machine. It cannot be changed on the fly while using the virtual environment, but it is nevertheless indispensable to be able to do so otherwise.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 22.3.2019
Harshit B.
Software Engineer
Telekommunikation, 13-50 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    4/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    3/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    4/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    3/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    8/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 30.1.2020

"VirtualBox, The little brother to the Workstation. "

Kommentare: The ability to spin up and test instances of our application and also new flavours is the primary business purpose and virtual box ticks all thos boxes is a great asset to have to meet the business goals.

Vorteile: Have been using VirtualBox to spam new distributions of linux and other open source operating systems and also use Virtual box to deploy our application as well and we use it as a benchmarking mechanism tool.

Nachteile: The least thing we like about this is the amount of compute it takes to run the application on the slight less specked machine and it does a take on the battery life, otherwise the application is good.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 30.1.2020
André H.
CEO (Owner)
Computer-Software, 2-10 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
  • Gesamtbewertung
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    5/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    4/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    5/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    9/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 8.3.2020

"Amazing and free virtualization software!"

Kommentare: Virtualbox has been an amazing tool for us. We’ve never encountered any errors/problems and we were able to use their virtualization software just fine!

Vorteile: The simplicity, and ease of use caught my eye. I was looking for a great tool to run virtual machines, and Virtualbox was the one!

Nachteile: There aren’t alot of cons, because this software is so professional and efficient!

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 8.3.2020
Hung V.
Solution architect
Computer-Software, 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    5/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    Nicht bewertet
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Nicht bewertet
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    9/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 19.12.2019

"VirtualBox for quickly initial new environment for testing"

Kommentare: I use VirtualBox to initial my testing environment for my shell script function which needs to run in Centos, RedHat, Debian and Ubuntu, I download the virtual OS and add into VirtualBox which alow me quickly verify my script and when I work with Kubernetes, it already support installation environment as Virtual OS and we use VirtualBox to host it.

Vorteile: With VirtualBox, I easily create a test and dev environment for different OS, it supports all type of OS from Window, Ubuntu, Centos. VirtualBox Guest system is quickly created and start and I could share data between Host OS and Guest OS including copy/paste, disk sharing and drag-drop. VirtualBox consume very little resource and is able to host multiple Guest OS at same time, it is an excellent feature when we want to test our script in different OS

Nachteile: Using VirtualBox is quite complex to setup Guest OS, special to enable access to Host OS hardware such as Printer, switch between Host OS and Guest OS have delayed time

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 19.12.2019
Mo'men Y.
IT Support Specialist
Telekommunikation, 13-50 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    3/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    3/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    5/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    7/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 12.2.2019

"VirtualBox Review"

Kommentare: My personal experience with it could be both satisfactory and disappointing, honestly. On the personal side, I'd say almost flawless, but on the professional side, it's not what I'd rely on, but again, you get what you pay for!

Vorteile: VirtualBox is open-source, easy and super fast to install and start, and it's free as well. It helps you test any OS in a few steps and switch between the operating systems you're running easily and swiftly. It's not exclusive to only one operating system.

Nachteile: If you just want to test operating systems and not go in-depth, VM VirtualBox would be okay. However, if you'd like to use it more in-depth, you'd find a few issues. Some computers do not allow the installation of a Virtual Machine software without changing the BIOS, and this, of course, isn't something everyone can do. Some features aren't supported without installing add-ons. Also, sound drivers aren't available. It takes a while to come up and if your computer isn't good on the specs side, you might have a laggy and slow experience. Changing the size of disk storage could be an issue, but such issued were paid attention to with newer versions (5.2). If you use the virtual OS you're running as a main drive or you rely on it for professional purposes, this could be a total disaster as you'd face countless network issues that'd hold you back. However, again, to be fair, these issues would be faced only if you go deep, but if you just run virtual OS for fun, or for simple usage, you'd have nothing to worry about.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 12.2.2019
Esther R.
Self-Employed
Informationsdienst, Selbstständig
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    5/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    Nicht bewertet
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Nicht bewertet
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    9/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 22.12.2019

"Excellent Virtual Machine Software for Individual Users"

Kommentare: VirtualBox excels at its primary purpose, which is to help individual users set up virtual machines on their computers quickly and easily. The interface is one of the best I've seen in almost any product category, and its ability to hide advanced options while still making them available as needed is top notch. Almost every modern operating system can be installed on VirtualBox, including the always-popular Windows and most Linux distributions. When it comes to negatives, some operating systems (especially Linux distributions) require additional programs or drivers to be installed before they will support all of the virtual machine features, and these drivers can occasionally break when updating the operating system until a fix is developed. Nonetheless, these are minor concerns, and VirtualBox is almost always my top recommendation for virtual machine creation, not to mention my own personal favorite.

Vorteile: Setup wizards make it extremely easy to set up your virtual machine, supports most popular operating systems, has advanced options available for those who need them, interface is excellent to work with

Nachteile: Some operating systems require additional configuration after installation, some limited driver support depending on operating system

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 22.12.2019
Kaleb-john L.
Senior Firmware Engineer
Computer-Vernetzung, 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    5/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    4/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    5/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    8/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 20.1.2020

"Encapsulate Your World With VirtualBox"

Kommentare: VirtualBox allows me to quickly create an encapsulated environment to run tests or to run servers for particular uses. This is much cheaper and faster than using a completely new hardware system.

Vorteile: VirtualBox has an easy workflow to setup a virtual environment. It encapsulates each virtual machine very well and doesn't require a lot of thinking to setup. It also has built-in defaults for common configurations which allows for even quicker starts. VirtualBox is constantly being updated and the updates are pushed to the user in a very convenient manner.

Nachteile: There are certain features with VirtualBox that are difficult to setup. The networking options require some learning to get accustomed to and can be confusing to get working. There are options that allow for shared folders from host to guest machine, but the instructions for setting this up are a bit lengthy. It is also difficult to figure out how to get the shared clipboard to work between machines.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 20.1.2020
Aymane M.
Developer
Computer-Software, Selbstständig
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    4/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    3/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Nicht bewertet
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    8/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 10.12.2019

"Oracle VM Virtualbox "

Kommentare: - I use it to install Android 86 custom Rom to run some apps on the machine
- I use it with Genymotion Android Emulator
- Install Windows on my MAC Machine

Vorteile: - Boot order configuration
- Chipset Changer
- Video memory configuration
- Enable remote display
- Enable / Disable audio from Virtualbox itself
- 4 Network adapters if you want
- Add folder to shared folders list easy
- Disable and Enable all devices from user interface in Virtualbox
- Install and use guest manager easy
- Host network manager
- Shortcuts on mac are adaptable with windows in the VM
- Snapshots
- USB Controller switchable between USB1.0, USB2.0 and USB3.0
- Supports Multi Monitor
- Clone Virtual Machine Easily

Nachteile: - Clipboard sometimes not working
- 3D Aceleration not working at all
- When scale factor set to 100% it makes VM Crashes itself
- Video capture makes Virtual Machine very very slow
- We can't change disk mode from ReadOnly to Normal (Writable) from the VirtualBox itself, it's need "vmanage" commands
- Sometimes crashes and closes itself when Virtual Machin uses a lot of RAM
- Not optimized for Custom kernels and Operating Systems
- It's very difficult to use a big software to an installed VM on VirtualBox (Ex: Visual Studio on Windows)

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 10.12.2019
Tanuj D.
Student
Computer-Software, 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    4/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    5/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    4/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    5/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    9/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 12.12.2019

"VirtualBox: Multiple OS? No Problem!"

Kommentare: VirtualBox is an excellent alternative to dual-booting your system for the purpose of supporting multiple operating systems, owing to its hassle-free and straightforward workflow. Furthermore, with all the integrations and customized settings that it supports, VirtualBox ensures that it provides a great experience in terms of compatibility and ease of usage.

Vorteile: As a Computer Science student, I often have to switch between multiple operating systems, and VirtualBox makes it a breeze to do so from the comfort of a single operating system of your choice. I primarily use Windows 10, but VirtualBox allows me to use other Linux-based operating systems in an efficient manner seamlessly. VirtualBox allows you to create multiple consolidated virtual machines, which all operate independently of each other. Furthermore, it supports a wide variety of operating systems and also provides various integration options for a number of them, making your experience as integrated and hassle-free as possible.

Nachteile: Aside from a couple of performance-related quirks, there have been no cons I have faced so far with my experience of using VirtualBox.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 12.12.2019
Kher yee T.
Software Engineer
Gesundheit, Wellness & Fitness, 201-500 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    4/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    4/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    Nicht bewertet
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    Nicht bewertet
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    9/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 13.12.2019

"My favorite hypervisor for virtualization"

Kommentare: It's really useful when you need to spin up a different OS for testing purpose.

Vorteile: It is free and comes with features that I can get my job done. Most importantly, it has great support for many platforms.

Nachteile: Not really the fault of the software itself, but spinning up several virtual machines might cause it to hang and only a reboot would help.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 13.12.2019
Josué G.
Support analyst
Telekommunikation, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
  • Gesamtbewertung
    4/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    5/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    4/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    5/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    9/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 3.11.2019

"The tool needed to virtualize and test software in secure environments"

Kommentare: VirtualBox has allowed me to develop and test applications on different operating systems in a safe and controlled environment. It is really an excellent tool to develop all kinds of tests the idea of being able to virtualize any operating system and within being able to apply test settings verify its behavior and even more its compatibility with the system is fantastic. It is even ideal to test an operating system with some internal modification, as in my case a Linux distribution to which a modified kernel was implemented in which different types of tests were performed before placing it in production, It is definitely safe reliable and robust Therefore, I would not hesitate to recommend its use as a virtualization tool.

Vorteile: VirtualBox has the quality of virtualizing almost any operating system with excellent driver compatibility using VirtualBox from the versions where it was necessary to capture the mouse and keyboard to use it on the guest and then release them with the Ctrl key to use it on the host, and I can say that the development and constant updating by the community have made this a great virtualization software that has great driver support. and the most attractive point is that it is free and is backed by a great company such as Oracle, it is important to highlight that VirtualBox is an excellent tool for home virtualization because in the business field we have more specialized ones, an important extra is that once installed the host host, it is possible to obtain additional functionalities, such as clipboard sharing, drag & drop support and adaptation of the host screen to the size of the host even by resizing one of its excellent features lies in the possibility of customizing each machine to the required needs Hardware with CPU, Memory, storage among others. In the networks section, the configuration capacity that can be obtained due to its different network modes is excellent, such as: Bridge mode, NAT, Internal network, host-only and Not connected, this can be said to be a tool Very complete virtualization.

Nachteile: In some operating systems such as Linux, the configuration of the extras that allow us for example the auto resizing of the screen and the other features mentioned in the pro section can be complicated. Additionally there is a point that, although I would not consider it so much a negative aspect of the tool if it is necessary to mention, and it is the subject of the resources of the host team because of this the performance of the virtual machines will depend, and that is that the essence of virtualization, one needs many system resources to take full advantage of the host and virtual machine simultaneously and finally I can not fail to mention the inability to make changes to the hardware of the virtual machine running, otherwise it is a excellent tool that more than positive aspects prevail over negative ones.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 3.11.2019
Francis carolina L.
Co Editor Chief
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    5/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    4/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    5/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    10/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 20.7.2018

"Everything you need to do software testing in a single workstation"

Kommentare: In the organization in which I worked some time ago, all platforms were migrating to free software. As a geographer, I had to make expedited deliveries of maps and that platform was not yet stable, with Virtualbox, I could use traditional software to respond to requests from my bosses. Currently I'm still using Virtualbox but outside the business scope. At home my family enjoys playing video games from the time of our childhood and they can only be executed in windows 98. It could not be possible to have this hobby without VirtualBox.

Vorteile: What I like most is that tool is free, easy to use and functional. These characteristics is what makes software distinguish from other similar ones. I also want to highlight its functions, such as: It allows installing virtually any operating system such as Linux, Android, Mac OS X, Windows, Chrome OS, etc; unlike others in the market.
It is extremely easy to create an environment for testing of all kinds. In this way we will easily obtain a test environment completely isolated from the rest of the systems.
Virtual machines and virtualization allow to use a single service per virtualized server easily and simply. In this way, even if one of the virtualized servers is dropped, the other will continue to work. Finally, the fact of virtualizing servers or operating systems can mean significant savings in maintenance and energy consumption.

Nachteile: Directly on the software, I could not say that there is something that I do not like, it is quite efficient. The issue is, we must have a computer or workstation that is powerful, since, if we use 2 operating systems simultaneously we are using twice as many resources. In addition, it is also possible that sometimes operating systems and programs will run slower in virtual machines. This is because the virtual machines can not get an ideal performance of the hardware that we have in our team. The more powerful our computer is, the less you will notice the loss of performance.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 20.7.2018
Dominic R.
Systems Architect
Informationstechnologie & -dienste, 2-10 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    5/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    5/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    10/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 22.6.2018

"Great tool for running additional environments on your workstation"

Kommentare: Nice free virtual machine tool to keep my primary workstation from getting too "cluttered"

Vorteile: VB is a great little tool to spin up additional OS environments on my workstation. I use this for 2 reasons. First, to be able to spin up other operating systems to do cross-platform testing (Linux, Windows (multiple versions), ChromeOS, etc). Secondly, I use it to have separate environments for clients. We have a multitude of clients that each require different (or worse, sometimes the same) VPN tools, software, etc. When you try to install all these tools on your regular desktop, we were constantly running into conflicts (one client needed to be v5.1 to connect to the VPN and a different client needed v4.7). It just became too much clutter. So I started spinning up a different Windows (or Linux) environment for each client install their tools separately. It has worked wonders!

Nachteile: The only downside is related to the /way/ I use the software. Because I spin up different environments for each client, if I have to work with a couple clients simultaneously (not often, but it happens), it can be incredibly slow because my workstations resources now have to be split 2, 3 or 4 ways (each envirnment usually gets 1/3 of my RAM allocated). Running 1 at a time is perfectly fine. Running 2 is usually OK, but once I hit 3, I've pretty much maxed out my host and it can be slow. That being said, I could accommodate for that by simply installing more RAM or allocating less to each.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 22.6.2018
Zhao Z.
Research Assistant
Forschung
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    5/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    4/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    5/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    10/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 8.2.2018

"As a graduate student majoring in Computer Science, I use VirtualBox a lot to set up Ubuntu."

Kommentare: I pay nothing to gain all the functionalities that I need to implement my coursework and research experiment. Although I am a Mac user, I can also install Windows on VirtualBox and use Office conveniently.

Vorteile: Firstly, VirtualBox is free. But it doesn't mean that it has bad quality. Its various features and functionalities are totally enough, especially for students to use for the academical purpose. I am using Ubuntu on VirtualBox to develop an Operating System kernel this semester. VirtualBox is the first recommendation by my professor. My laptop is Mac OS and only has 4G memory. Since VirtualBox is lightweight and uses smaller memory than VMware, startup or shutdown of the virtual machine on my laptop is very fast, only a few seconds. For students, VirtualBox initial settings are simpler than those on VMware. Most of the time, those settings have nothing to do with coursework or academic experiment. We usually use default values. Too many settings will distract our attention. So the simpleness of VirtualBox can help students focus on their coursework topic.

Nachteile: Compared to VMware, drag-and-drop functionality on VirtualBox is less convenient. Although we can do sequence settings on VirtualBox to make it support drag-and-drop functionality between host and virtual machine, it is time-consuming and easy to make mistakes to learn and implement these settings.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 8.2.2018
Libio L.
Analista de Sistemas
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    4/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    4/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    3/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    3/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    7/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 6.3.2018

"Excelente para probar programas nuevos y diferentes sistemas"

Kommentare: To test operating systems.
To use software that is not available in our operating system.
Create and simulate a network of servers.

Vorteile: It allows me to test different programs without altering my operating system. I can create multiple servers to simulate different networks and test the operation of a server before putting it into operation. I can enter with different programs without altering my operating system. can be installed in any operating system and be able to use all programs, either private or free, since you have no restrictions for use.
VirtualBox supports the virtualization of the following operating systems: Microsoft Windows GNU / Linux Mac OS X OS / 2 Warp Solaris / OpenSolaris FreeBSD MS-DOS Android etc.

Nachteile: You need a powerful computer. We have to take into account that if we use 2 operating systems simultaneously we are using twice as many resources. Operating systems and programs will run slower in virtual machines. This is because the virtual machines can not get an ideal performance of the hardware that we have in our team. The more powerful our computer is, the loss of performance will be noticed.
If we have a problem with the computer hosting the host operating system, the service may fall on the entire virtual machine. Therefore the computer that runs the virtual machine is a critical part.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 6.3.2018
Krishna M.
Student Ambassador
Hochschulbildung, 13-50 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    5/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    Nicht bewertet
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    5/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    9/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 9.9.2019

"No more spending money to buy computers just to use different operating systems"

Kommentare: Overall, Virtualbox has done wonders for me. Allowing me to try to learn new operating systems without having to spend a lot of money to buy a machine that has that operating system.

Vorteile: Virtualbox is open-source software that hosts just about any operating system as a file: Windows, macOS, Linux, Ubuntu, Android, etc. A ton of operating systems to choose from. Of course, to do that, you have to download the actual operating system file that can be several gigabytes. But once done, it's easy to import the OS into Virtualbox and start using out of the box. As a Student Ambassador, one of the duties I have is to showcase my computer science projects in an open house event. I have showcased my projects using the Ubuntu operating system. I wasn't comfortable inserting Ubuntu into my main hard disk as a dual boot. If I need to switch the OS on the fly, having a dual boot setup doesn't let me do that, but VirtualBox does. I am asked to showcase Linux commands I learned in my class to prospective students and their families.

Nachteile: I cannot think of a single dislike. VirtualBox is quite simply, easy to use. No learning curve, and it works out of the box. Of course, the only valid gripe I can give is that you need to have a powerful computer with a good amount of RAM and hard drive space.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 9.9.2019
Verifizierter Rezensent
Analyst
Computer- & Netzwerksicherheit, 10.001+ Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
  • Gesamtbewertung
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    3/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    4/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    5/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    9/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 19.5.2019

"Virtualization in Minutes - Virtual Box"

Kommentare: Overall VirtualBox servers the total purpose. It can be installated on any operating system, so no matter if your Server is sitting on Windows or Linux box, VirtualBox can be installed and used flawlessly without any powerful configurations. So if you have a Server which in turn is connecting to multiple different servers sitting at different sites at your organization, you can use VirtualBox to bring all the Servers in one instance and make the process more efficient and streamlined.

Vorteile: VirtualBox is a really lightweight but powerful virtualiztion software. It allows us to build machines within machines and interconnect each machine in a personalised manner of networking. It is helps hugely on Servers for creating minor servers within one parent server which facilitates the basic functioning of any Server. Additionally we can create multiple machines and run all of them at once considering cores of your base machine and each virtual machine will work as a dedicated system serving the purpose.

Nachteile: Support can be a con for this software. We can get a lot of open source/ public communities supporting this software but there is not formal teaching lessons/ vedios from Oracle explainig the functioning of this software in detail. So learning the software can consist of alot of reaching which eventually becomes frustating at times but overall you learn more when you research. But Oracle can publish some offical videos exolaning the software which will be a lot more helpful.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 19.5.2019
Caleb J.
Junior Software Developer
Informationstechnologie & -dienste, 501-1.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    4/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    3/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    3/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    3/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    7/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 15.3.2019

"VirtualBox - Free hypervisor for your computer"

Kommentare: One of my personal favor feature of the application is the ability to create handy snapshots of different state of each VM you create. I use it mainly to test software and websites before launching them in production. with the snapshot feature, I can install all basic required software in the operating system of my choice and when I believe I have the perfect environment, I create a snapshot, in the event something goes wrong, I can easily revert to the snapshot create for this purpose. This allow me to have a clean slate to start from each time I want to run another test and have all I need.

Vorteile: VirtualBox - is a free open-source, cross-platform and a solid built hypervisor for your computer, which was development by Oracle Corporation. This software is perfect for software reviewers, software testers, software developers and software designers, just to name a few. VirtualBox makes it very easy and convenient to have multiple different operating systems running as guest on your single computer, which acts as the host, eliminating the need to dual boot your machine or the need to have more than one physical computer to run each operating system you might need to perform optimally.

Nachteile: The most recent version 6.0, has a cool and clean interface with minimal clutter. On the left-hand side of the application you can find global tools and all virtual machines and also virtual machine groups that you have created and available on you computer. You also have the handy import and create new VMs with related toolbar buttons for customizable options to suite your needs. Although the software is free, you can adjust just about any feature available, making it work in as you want and need.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 15.3.2019
John D.
System Administrator II
Versicherung, 201-500 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    5/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    5/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    10/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 8.8.2018

"Easy to use Workstation Virtualization!"

Kommentare: Considering the product is open source and free, it is easy to install on windows or linux clients and spin up test virtual machines in a few minutes. It also, allows for rapid testing and ever setting up of small networks to simulate a prodution server environement of a desktop machine if needed. Would highly recommend for programmers, sysadmin, or even home hobbyists that have a need to run multiple machines but do not have the hardware available to do so.

Vorteile: This has been my go to cross platform virtualization software for testing and development. It is easy to acquire and install. Supports a wide breadth of hosts (Linux, Windows and Macs) and Guest OSs( even dating back to DOS and Windows 3.1!) . It can even he run headless with a simple web interface and does not require dedicated hardware like ESX. Also, Apps can be run seamlessly within the host operating system.

Nachteile: Even though it is easy to use, I do not think it runs as thin as VMware. Also, to autostart machines requires third party hacks rather than a intergrated service within the product. Undestanding that Virtualbox is meant to be more of a client based virtualized product, it would still be nice to see the autostart of the guest machines baked into the product.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 8.8.2018
Jonathon T.
Technology Specialist
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    5/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    5/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    5/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    10/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 16.4.2018

"Simple and the best part... FREE"

Kommentare: Cheap high quality operating system virtualization that hasn't let me down yet.

Vorteile: This is the easiest Virtualization software I've been able to find and the best part is that it's FREE. I use it for virtualizing several machines for our organization. We are a smaller business but still have a need for some things to be on a dedicated "server" (door locks and our older Church Management software). These 2 things could not be installed on a machine that was running other services as they use some of the same ports that the other ones did and it was causing conflicts. I used Virtual Box so they could run virtually on the same machine that they wouldn't work on previously. The feature set (network settings, display settings, and the KB/Mouse passthrough once the Virtual Box tools is installed) in Virtual Box is right up there with the "big dogs" but they do it for free which for a smaller organization such as ours is huge.

Nachteile: There have been a few Virtual Box software hiccups that require me to shutdown and reboot the 2 virtual servers but it's been fairly solid and only happened 3 times in the 2+ years that machine has been running.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 16.4.2018
David J.
Student on Gimnazija i ekonomska skola "Jovan Jovanovic Zmaj"
Bildungsmanagement, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    5/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    4/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    4/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    10/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 20.2.2019

"VirtualBox- Review"

Kommentare: With VirtualBox I am solving problems like tuff installing windows 10 on my computer which I don't know if its gonna turn well for me , I just simulate it and see how is my computer reacting on it , its like I am going around all hard and complicated installations and just installing it on easy way, that's also my main benefit.

Vorteile: What I like most about this software is his flexibility. You can choose it to simulate every computer software you like , from Windows (XP Vista, 7, 8, 10) to Linux and more. I would recommend it to every programmer or ethical hacker who is still learning about hacking, installation of all packages is really fast and easy. They are guiding you to every step and there is no chance you can make mistake. The simulations are very likely to original software which I found very amazing. Thank you VirtualBox!

Nachteile: What I least like about this software is that sometimes some simulations are very slow to install and use ,I don't know if its because of my computer or because VirtualBox system, its like I am having 25 FPS when I am on Linux Software, and internet can be very slow there, also In the beginning I couldn't find way to exit VirtualBox simulation, which I found very troubling.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 20.2.2019
Jorge M.
Ingeniero de sistemas
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    4/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    3/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    3/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    4/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    7/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 7.3.2018

"is a very practical application that allows to install additional operating systems within another "

Kommentare: You can install several operating systems on a desktop, Hosts and cross-platform guests, including Windows, Linux and Oracle Solaris, and Mac OS X as host, has Teletransport of virtual machines running between hosts without interruption, has a high performance, supports loads of Massive work of up to 32 virtual CPUs and compatibility with OVF format.

Vorteile: It is an open source software compatible with a large number of guest operating systems, its versatility makes it compatible with x86 / amd64 architectures, it is an application that allows to install additional operating systems, known as "guest systems", within another system operative "host", each with its own virtual environment. In terms of hardware emulation, the hard disks of the guest systems are stored in the host systems as individual files in a container called Virtual Disk Image, incompatible with the other virtualization softwares.

Nachteile: they add great complexity to the system at runtime. The main disadvantage of the virtual machine, is that in the application of some process will have the effect of the slowness of the computer, that is, the computer in which this process is running must have a quite remarkable capacity must be of great capacity or powerful. The languages based on virtual machine, have a disadvantage is that they are actually slower than fully compiled languages, due to the overload generated by having an intermediate software layer between the application and the computer hardware, however, This limitation does not it's too critical.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 7.3.2018
Sumit K.
Devops Engineer
Computer-Software, 501-1.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    4/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    4/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    4/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    4/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    4/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    8/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 3.12.2018

"Oracle Virtual Box Review "

Kommentare: It’s a very good experience to work on Virtual Box

Vorteile: 1) It allows to create virtual machine of any OS. 2) It allows to change settings for every single virtual machine. 3) We don’t need to create servers for testing purposes as the virtual machine provides the same functionality. 4) It does not limit the user for using it.

Nachteile: 1) Installation process takes very time. 2) On some computers, one must allow virtualisation through bios to create Virtual Machine. 3) There is no copy and paste option in virtual machine. For that we need to open session in putty. 4) Sound Drivers are not present and even we do have full screen size for virtual machine.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 3.12.2018
Luis daniel R.
Lead Application Developer
Computer-Software, 13-50 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    5/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    5/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    5/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    4/5
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    5/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    10/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 22.5.2019

"Best VMs around"

Vorteile: I've been using Virtual Box for years now and for different OS. Recently last week I got even Mac OS X Mojave to work on a VM on a windows machine! It's always been really, really powerful and the snapshots feature it's a godsend. I'm a software engineer and we have to test different kind of apps and on different kind of systems and VMWare for me, again is a godsend because I can keep multiple systems running with different OS or different versions of the app and make them work with each other. The resource management is great and even on the free version! I honestly cannot recommend it enough.

Nachteile: There were some issues with Windows 10 lately and VMWare where some of the VM extensions wouldn't register properly and over the years, it feels that when using Linux Systems, the VMWare tools aren't too good and you have to resort to tutorials or scripts online to get them to work.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 22.5.2019
Phaneendra A.
Senior software engineer
Computer-Software, 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
  • Gesamtbewertung
    4/5
  • Benutzerfreundlichkeit
    3/5
  • Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
    4/5
  • Kundenbetreuung
    Nicht bewertet
  • Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
    5/5
  • Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung
    9/10
  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 22.8.2018

"Free virtualization software to work on multiple OS with decent feature set"

Kommentare: The VirtualBox software overall performance is low compared to other proprietary application like parallel and VMware on Mac. Also the performance is slow on computer hardware few years old, as the virtualisation support is recently added in recent intel processors. But the performance and configuration issues can be ignored for the free nature of software and with the hope that future versions will offer better.

Vorteile: I find VirtualBox to be very useful to install and use various Linux distros on my windows/Mac OS laptops.
Before the virtualization software improved, dual OS installation is the only option and its risky and may run into cases where we need to reformat the whole hard drive thereby end-up losing data.
The completely and opensource nature of VirtualBox helps in saving money to business. With recent improvement there are many features being added to VirtualBox, shared folders and shared clipboard which greatly enhance the usability when running in emulated OS. Also since the hard drive emulation is supported in multiple formats, the hard drive files can be shared with team members.

Nachteile: The major con in my experience with VirtualBox is with the USB data transfer speed as USB 2 is not widely supported in VirtualBox. Although this can be worked around copying files to shared folder of host OS. The guest addition component installation and configuration to get full features is a pain and needs some googling.

  • Quelle des Nutzers 
  • Bewertet am 22.8.2018