LCA made easy with One Click LCA

Bewertet am 16.4.2019
Sadaf G.
Sustainability Analyst
Bau, 13-50 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: 6-12 Monate
Quelle des Nutzers 
5/5
Gesamt
5 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
3 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
3 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
4 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Kommentare: Carrying out the life cycle assessment of a building, be it fit-out or core & shell has truly never been this simple. The more challenging part of this task would probably be getting the required data and documentation from your client because all you need to do is input the data in this software and it will do the rest by itself, presenting you with the results of the environmental impacts of the project in clear, concise and graphical representation. One Click LCA can easily be integrated with software such as ArchiCAD and Revit apart from IFC files etc. to either calculate the life cycle assessment of an entire project or isolate a material by itself to perform an evaluation.
By using One Click LCA we have been able to achieve credits under several green building rating systems including LEED (USA), BREEAM (UK)and Green Star (Australia) apart from performing analysis of construction materials and their subsequent impact on the environment.

Vorteile: The software is an excellent tool for identifying the carbon-intensive areas of the design and material choice, wherein one can perform assessments (LCA, LCC) of their buildings in substantially less amount of time. This includes calculation of embodied carbon, GWP breakdown, acidification, eutrophication, ozone depletion potential, non-hazardous waste disposal etc. It is easy to comprehend which materials and products contribute towards the most CO2 emissions, and therefore can be reconsidered or even replaced, thanks to the 'show sustainable alternatives' option available.
The results can also be reviewed graphically over the entire life cycle stages (A1-A3 Materials, B4-B5 Material Replacement, B6 Energy, B7 Water and C1-C4 Deconstruction), easy to integrate with sustainability tracking and evidence reports.
The software is uncomplicated to use, with simple navigation and does not require much training, the input required is building area, material data, material transportation distances, energy and water consumption data to get started and get results.
Additionally, the software support provided is exemplary, you can even sign up for online training where an expert will guide you through the software step by step so that you can get started with your assessments.

Nachteile: The only issue I think would be that online training is free only for the initial time period. One will have to pay for more detailed training sessions, which I think should be included in the price of the license.
I have honestly not encountered any other major disadvantages of using One Click LCA, it truly offers what it promises. Everything from the data input to calculations is exactly what is required of such software.

We use OneClick LCA for LCA in Breeam-NOR and for GHG-calculation for buildings

Bewertet am 1.11.2017
Kirsti A.
Civil ingenieur/environmental advisor
Umweltdienstleistungen, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: 6-12 Monate
Quelle des Nutzers 
4/5
Gesamt
3 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
3 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
5 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
3 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Kommentare: I'a ambel to do LCA in Breeam-projects andr GHG-calculations

Vorteile: The website is easy to understand. The info tag for each material is very good, and you can find out which EPD is based. Fine that the results are displayed in several ways, both in scientific and exponential terms. Nice to be able to export the result to excel. Fine that you have updated the results page with which materials have the highest / lowest emissions. Support is good and you respond quickly. We need more practice so we understand everything better and the process will go faster.

Nachteile: It's hard to find the right material, at least if you do not have the manufacturer. The list of materials comes far down the page and there are 2 windows to scroll in, so it's hard to see the totality of the material list.IFC import is difficult because the IFC file is usually not good enough, and it is difficult for to make sure all the materials are included and know where in the building they are located. When you make ifc import, you get to a page where you can manually place the materials / items in the correct category. There you have to do the whole job right away or you will not return to the same window. This is difficult, because sometimes it would be good to check the results along the way. You also do not get exchanged material on an item after you leave this page, and it may be the one you want.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von Bionova an 6.11.2017

Thanks a lot for your insightful comments Kirsti, we really appreciate them! I wanted to inform you that we are working on an automated BIM model checker tool and we would be happy to have you participate in the pilot phase. If you are interested you can contact support@bionova.fi. This new tool should solve the issues you have specified, as it will provide feedback and give suggestions on how to improve the model. Thanks again!

We used One Click LCA in LEED and BREEAM projects and the software is easy and intuitive to use.

Bewertet am 30.10.2017
Francesco A.
Architect LEED AP
Architektur & Planung, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
Quelle des Nutzers 
4/5
Gesamt
5 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
4 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
5 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
4 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Vorteile: I really liked that One Click LCA is easy to use from day 1. No one wants a slow leaning curve. Moreover the vast database of materials help to get a LCA as accurate as possible to the built building. Last but not least I appreciated the multiple languages.

Nachteile: When we first used it, One Click LCA was not integrated with Archicad (nor Autocad) but it looks like that the latest version bridged that gap. I don't see other negative points, at least my perspective.

This tool is wonderful! I had a few issues starting off, but now am ready to run with it!

Bewertet am 24.10.2017
Rachel N.
Sustainable Program Manager
Umweltdienstleistungen, 13-50 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: 1-5 Monate
Quelle des Nutzers 
5/5
Gesamt
4 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
4 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
5 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
5 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Kommentare: Ability to start offering our clients this LEED service

Vorteile: #1 - The customer service is amazing! I have had people personally emailing me, setting up personal tutorials to make sure I got up and running. They reviewed my data to see why my results were not making sense to me.
#2 - This product could potentially take very little time for an evaluation, depending on the quality of data you start off with.
#3 - The results are easy to see, understand

Nachteile: My main complaint is that evaluating products is not as easy as I thought it would be.
1# You have to upload your data again if you find the value doesn't make sense and you picked a less environmentally friendly product.
2# It is hard to tell from the materials selection which product is better, how to spec it, and then go through the calculation process again.
It would be easier to be able to review results and go back to the selection screen.
Other than that, it looks like perhaps the US market needs to have more options included in the database.

We do the LCA analyses commercially, mostly for new constructed buildings

Bewertet am 3.11.2017
Marcin C.
Project Manager
Tiefbau, 10.001+ Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
Quelle des Nutzers 
5/5
Gesamt
5 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
4 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
5 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
5 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Vorteile: Well made, ease of use, straight forward, fulfilling the need. It works in a cloud which is handy. It has nice visual interpretation of results. Quite substantial database. A lot of default options that can be used like average European transport impact. The input can be uploaded, and the results can be downloaded for further usage.

Nachteile: Searching in database is not always easy and precise. There is still some room for interpretation of results to implement.

OneClick LCA is a simple and intuitional tool.

Bewertet am 25.10.2017
Ada K.
Young engineer
Tiefbau, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
Quelle des Nutzers 
5/5
Gesamt
5 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
5 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
5 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
5 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Kommentare: It is easy to see the environmental impact of the construction and the whole building proccess. The client is able to understand what "damages" it causes.

Vorteile: It is easy to use the software. Every new user is able to learn fast how to work with this software.

Nachteile: Sometimes it is difficult to choose wich material is the most similar to the one in the project (if there are no material in the database). Nevertheless. with more and more expierience it is easier too pick the right one.

I'm using the program for my master thesis.

Bewertet am 28.10.2017
Merve A.
Environmental Engineer
Umweltdienstleistungen, 13-50 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: 6-12 Monate
Quelle des Nutzers 
3/5
Gesamt
4 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
2 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
5 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
3 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Vorteile: The most important thing about the program is that it is easy to use. No difficulty in getting used to it.

Nachteile: Database should be enhanced. I have difficulty in finding related products that the actual building has.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von Bionova an 1.11.2017

Hello, thanks so much for your review, which has highlighted an issue we have been recently working on. We have recently updated our filtering and search function, which has made finding products easier. We are also working on solving some naming inconsistencies that make it harder to find products and are due to the diversity of naming conventions among manufacturers. Moreover, we are working on enhancing the database with more generic materials. So hopefully you will see a lot of improvements in the upcoming months and you can also send EPDs you wish to be added to the database to support@bionova.fi,
Thanks again and good luck for your thesis!

Completely positive experience

Bewertet am 31.10.2017
Kiril S.
Head of Buildings Department
Verwendete die Software für: 1-5 Monate
Quelle des Nutzers 
5/5
Gesamt
5 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
5 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
5 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
5 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Vorteile: Software capabilities allowing to achieve high score under BREEAM International certification are amongst the most valued features. Data import from *.IFC file when the file is of appropriate LOD reduce the amount of man-hours needed to complete the project.
As the administrator I have full access to projects that my colleagues are working on and can easily see the progress.

Beginner with the tool, very good support from Bionova

Bewertet am 31.10.2017
Verifizierter Rezensent
Sustainability Consultant
Immobilien, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: 1-5 Monate
Quelle des Nutzers 
4/5
Gesamt
4 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
3 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
5 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
3 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Kommentare: Easy and quick LCA

Vorteile: Online, no software installation required
Revit Plug-in for easy export is very handy
Easy interface

Nachteile: Limited database of materials
When exported from Revit, it's hard to see what element is specified and which one isn't