ETL for agile analysts

Bewertet am 30.9.2019
Tamás S.
Data Analyst
Informationstechnologie & -dienste, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
Quelle des Nutzers 
5/5
Gesamt
4 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
4 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
5 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
5 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Kommentare: There are mostly two types of ETL as a service on the market: one is super easy to use and can migrate your data across services and databases but lacks transformation capabilities, while the other needs full-time data engineers to operate but tailored solutions are available programmatically. Xplenty sits in the golden middle letting analysts and engineers deploying custom transformation jobs in minutes even based on multiple data sources. The UI is intuitive but you can always use SQL to filter your sources or to create new sets in scheduled packages. Also, there are plenty of built-in functions available. Running costs are not comparable of running your own services on Heroku or Google cloud but its intuitive features save a lot of engineering hours. I would recommend Xplenty for agile teams having multiple sources of data where data analysts frequently needs custom datasets to deliver insights.

Vorteile: - wide variety of sources and destinations
- visual editor makes creating packages quick and easy
- SQL transformations
- great, quick, responsive support
- free unlimited hours of sandbox
- Slack integration

Nachteile: - expansive for hourly jobs
- error logs are not always informative
- transforming JSON or other nested data is not trivial

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von Xplenty Data Integration an 24.10.2019

Thank you for your detailed review! We appreciate your comments and will work on your listed cons. Great explanation of who will likely benefit from using Xplenty. Thanks!

My Views on Xplenty after using it for 2+ years

Bewertet am 27.9.2019
Guru kiran S.
Data warehouse / ETL Developer
Computer-Software, 13-50 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Quelle des Nutzers 
5/5
Gesamt
5 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
5 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
5 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
5 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Vorteile: 1.The user experience is so good.
2.Every feature and usability has been simplified unlike in other enterprise ETL tools.
3. The managed service for infrastructure is the USP of xplenty.
4. The customer support is so active and get back to us with the solution on time.
5. Xplenty is on PAR with enterprise level tools.

Nachteile: I did not have anything like that, but there is a room for improvement in cluster management and a request for feature is they can bring a in-built support for handling array data type.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von Xplenty Data Integration an 28.10.2019

Thank you for your review! We will look into your feature requests. :)

Great way to bring in different data sources into a warehouse easily

Bewertet am 7.10.2019
Andrew R.
Data Scientist
Internet, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: 6-12 Monate
Quelle des Nutzers 
4/5
Gesamt
4 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
5 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
5 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
5 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Vorteile: It's very easy to set up a package or workflow to bring in data from production databases, Google analytics, facebook, etc. There are also a number of ways to transform the data that are built in. For example, I have user agent strings in my database, and Xplenty can easily make those into browser version, device type , and other separate columns.
Scheduling of jobs is very intuitive for both the less technical user and for users that are very familiar with crontabs

Nachteile: It can be really difficult to debug a package. It would be nice to be able to see intermediate outputs along the way in in a complicated package.
Would also be nice to have a good way to retry a package more than once in case it fails and then be able to define success/failure for the entire package
Error messages on failure could be more helpful

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von Xplenty Data Integration an 28.10.2019

I will pass along your suggestions to the engineering team. Thank you for your review!

Building a Data Pipeline

Bewertet am 8.10.2019
Safiya M.
Senior Data Scientist
Computer-Software, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: 6-12 Monate
Quelle des Nutzers 
4/5
Gesamt
5 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
4 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
5 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
4 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Kommentare: Our company was looking to connect to a few more data sources and were looking for an ETL product that had specific connectors for those (primarily Salesforce). This one had the most existing connectors of those we needed already available and was the easiest to setup. The initial setup went well and we've had great interactions with the customer support as well. We've been using it for several months now with very few hiccups.

Vorteile: Of all of the products we tested out, Xplenty was the most intuitive and easiest to use. It is very straightforward to set up when using when the existing connectors.

Nachteile: Sometimes when a job fails, it's hard to determine the cause from the provided Error Log as it can be pretty minimal in some cases.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von Xplenty Data Integration an 28.10.2019

Thank you for your review and glad to hear about your use-case!

Flexible & Powerful

Bewertet am 4.10.2019
Nick M.
Director of Client Success
Marketing & Werbung, 13-50 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
Quelle des Nutzers 
4/5
Gesamt
4 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
3 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
4 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
4 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Vorteile: Xplenty's easy-to-use interface makes it possible for less-technical members of my team to dive in and create/edit ETL jobs and schedules. We use Xplenty to enhance partner data, transform and add flexibility to how we structure and consume various data streams. Xplenty makes this easy.

Nachteile: There are a few feature requests that we've submitted for some time now that have not been able to get rolled into the product. Namely, the inability to output fields containing special characters as a part of the field name has been especially limiting.

No-SQL to SQL

Bewertet am 8.10.2019
Chris S.
Senior Data Scientist
Computer-Software, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Quelle des Nutzers 
5/5
Gesamt
5 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
5 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
4 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
5 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Vorteile: We have a complex and highly nested no-sql DB. Xplenty was the only ETL solution that allowed us get out data into tabular format for analysis

Nachteile: None. Its been great. Haven't had any issues.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von Xplenty Data Integration an 28.10.2019

Glad to hear!

Breaks the dependency on R&D

Bewertet am 9.10.2019
Shachar A.
Director of Business Operations
Internet, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Quelle des Nutzers 
5/5
Gesamt
3 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
5 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
5 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
5 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Vorteile: Xplenty saves us lots of developers hours (internal and external), simplify data integration and cancel the need in many Salesforce Apex Codes. Within minutes, you can create any process you want from multiple data sources for your needs.

Nachteile: As a non-developer, sometimes I need a step-by-step guide in order to understand (and not just execute) the processes I want.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von Xplenty Data Integration an 28.10.2019

We appreciate your review!

We use Xplenty for transforming Salesforce data

Bewertet am 19.4.2018
Verifizierter Rezensent
Director - Systems
Essen & Trinken, 501-1.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Quelle des Nutzers 
5/5
Gesamt
5 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
4 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
5 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
5 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Kommentare: Saves us time and money. Many processes can be automated quickly and easily.

Vorteile: The interface is intuitive and easy to use. The package capabilities are very robust allowing us to move data between very different systems.

Nachteile: Scheduling packages would be better with 'on finish' functionality rather than requiring a strict schedule.

Xplenty Review

Bewertet am 26.9.2019
Derek M.
Associate Director
Marketing & Werbung, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
Quelle des Nutzers 
4/5
Gesamt
4 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
3 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
4 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
5 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Kommentare: Xplenty has been an integral part of our reporting suite that services over 160 clients. While it has its quirks, Xplenty has been the linchpin for offering consistent reporting to our clients.

Vorteile: Xplenty is easy to use and oriented to developers

Nachteile: 1) It can be difficult to debug errors in complex Xplenty flows, 2) long wait times to get help from support, and 3) doesn't have as many 3rd party connectors (i.e. SalesForce or Amazon) compared to competitors

Excellent Product

Bewertet am 16.10.2019
Callum S.
Senior Salesforce Business Analyst
Paket- & Frachtlieferung, 10.001+ Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: 6-12 Monate
Quelle des Nutzers 
5/5
Gesamt
5 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
5 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
5 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
5 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Kommentare: We needed to transform and import financial data from our data warehouse into Salesforce on a weekly basis.
Sales team were not pushy and wanted to understand the use case and wanted to make sure the product was the correct fit for the use case.
Easy to learn and very effective.

Vorteile: Very easy to use.
Has many connectors and sources to capture data from.
Pricing point is very welcoming.
Once up and running, is stable and does not require maintenance.

Nachteile: Error logs could be more informative, but still ok to understand.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von Xplenty Data Integration an 28.10.2019

Thank you for your review!

Excellent Product

Bewertet am 9.10.2019
Faisal A.
Solution Architect
Informationstechnologie & -dienste, 13-50 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: 6-12 Monate
Quelle des Nutzers 
5/5
Gesamt
5 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
5 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
5 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
5 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Vorteile: Easy to use & helpful technical support team.

Nachteile: Delays in responses from support team because they are based in US & it requires them more time to respond.

Antwort des Softwareanbieters

von Xplenty Data Integration an 24.10.2019

We appreciate your review!

Very easy to digest data from popular data sources

Bewertet am 5.7.2017
Irfan R.
PPC MANAGER
Essen & Trinken, 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: 6-12 Monate
Quelle des Nutzers 
4/5
Gesamt
4 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
4 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
5 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
5 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Vorteile: The plugins, and initiating jobs via the API. The ability to connect to multiple sources and merging into one data source.

Nachteile: Not having the ability to iterate through 1 day at a time within a data range, also not being able to use certificates as authentication.

Great integration platform

Bewertet am 21.3.2018
Steve L.
PMO Manager
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
Quelle des Nutzers 
5/5
Gesamt
5 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
5 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
5 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
5 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Kommentare: Xplenty has helped us connect our data in ways we hadn't before.

Vorteile: It's fairly simple to connect to data sources and has all of the features you would expect. If you aren't running a massive amount of real-time integrations then it is cost effective.

Nachteile: We haven't had a lot of real issues. The node hours thing can be a headache if you want real-time data, but that's a common thing in this space so nothing unexpected.

Love Xplenty

Bewertet am 5.10.2016
David C.
Director of Systems
Lebensmittelproduktion, 501-1.000 Mitarbeiter
Quelle des Nutzers 
4/5
Gesamt
5 / 5
Benutzerfreundlichkeit
4 / 5
Eigenschaften & Funktionalitäten
5 / 5
Kundenbetreuung
4 / 5
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
Wahrscheinlichkeit der Weiterempfehlung:
Unwahrscheinlich Äußerst wahrscheinlich

Kommentare: Xplenty is easy to use but quite powerful. You can transform your data with development experience required. Easy to install and use.

Vorteile: Ease of use. Value for the cost.

Nachteile: Still need connectivity back into Salesforce