Katalon Studio Erfahrungen

Über Katalon Studio

Eine kostenlose und robuste API-, Web- und Mobile-Testautomatisierungslösung mit kontinuierlicher Integration, der Hunderttausende von Benutzern vertrauen.

Erfahre mehr über Katalon Studio

Vorteile:

Katalon Studio is an affordable solution that allows for many complex testing needs to be met and integrated within the QA pipeline.

Nachteile:

Also, since the tool is relatively new to the market compared to some other tools, this makes troubleshooting an issue a bit difficult as you won't find large support community.

Bewertungen zu Katalon Studio

Durchschnittliche Bewertung

Benutzerfreundlichkeit
4,4
Kundenservice
4,0
Funktionen
4,3
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis
4,4

Weiterempfehlungsquote

8,5/10

Katalon Studio hat eine Gesamtbewertung von 4,4 von 5 Sternen basierend auf 694 Nutzerbewertungen auf Capterra.

Hast du Katalon Studio bereits verwendet?

Teile deine Erfahrungen mit anderen Softwareinteressenten.

Nutzerbewertungen filtern (694)

Noor Yeaser
Noor Yeaser
Sr. Software QA Engineer in Bangladesch
Verifizierter Nutzer auf LinkedIn
Computer-Software, 501-1.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
Herkunft der Bewertung

Katalon Studio - The one stop solution to software testing

5,0 vor 3 Jahren

Kommentare: Now all my test scripts are built with this tool. I don't have to solely rely on Postman to test backend APIs or just Selenium Webdriver to test frontend web applications or Appium to automate mobile applications. I do prepare all my automation test scripts now using Katalon Studio.

Vorteile:

The tool can be used to test the following: 1) API 2) Web Applications 3) Mobile applications Requires minimal programming knowledge to leverage the tool for application testing. Easily integrated with 3rd party applications like Slack. Ready, Handy and FREE plugins available to make testing more effective. Test scripts are interchangeable with Selenium Webdriver.

Nachteile:

Since this tool is somewhat new in the market compared to Selenium Webdriver, hence, its at times difficult to find solutions if a user is stuck in a problem. However, the KS developers tries their level best to find the suitable solution for you as early as possible.

Maximo
QA lead engineer in Argentinien
Personalwesen, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen:

Excelente herramienta para automatización de pruebas

4,0 vor 5 Monaten

Kommentare: La implementación y curva de uso fue sumamente sencilla y los logs son más detallados y de fácil lectura que en otras herramientas como Postman

Vorteile:

Katalon permite automatizar tanto pruebas de frontend como de servicios REST y SOAP, la automatización de servicios es muy sencilla mediante el uso de objetos de prueba y scripts de ejecución en lenguaje Groovy (una implementación de Java) con lógica extensa tanto para las llamadas a los servicios como con sus verificaciones. La automatización de frontend implementa selenium y ocasionalmente tiene algunos inconvenientes por el acceso a los elementos mediante locators, especialmente en sitios que usan componentes dinámicos sin identificación clara de que es cada componente.

Nachteile:

Que la versión gratuita no permite importar definiciones de swagger/open API 2.1, este solo se encuentra en la versión paga.

Sampath
Team Lead in USA
Informationstechnologie & -dienste, 10.000+ Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: 6-12 Monate
Herkunft der Bewertung

Good tool for Functional and Automation testers.

5,0 vor 2 Monaten

Kommentare: I am very happy for UI and API automation testing. UI supports with all browsers option is good.

Vorteile:

I liked Record and Playback feature. Sauce labs, chrome and Firefox execution. API execution is also very good and easy to implement for functional Testers. Predefined Git options are very good.

Nachteile:

Debug feature is complicated. Identify elements for desktop applications feature is not good using UISpy.

shyam
Software Engineer in USA
Unterhaltungselektronik, 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: 6-12 Monate
Herkunft der Bewertung

Good tool for API Automation but not so good for mobile UI

3,0 vor 3 Jahren

Kommentare: API Automation - It is good
UI Automation - Not good

Vorteile:

Well organized and easy to use. For APIs its straight forward

Nachteile:

Mobile UI automation is quite tough to setup. Android automation, once we make a script using the a particular mobile using the recorder, we were not able to use it on another model phone. When recording, the ids which the Katalon Studio is creating were changing for the next phone and hence it is not recognizing the on other phones. On the Iphone UI automation, most of the Iphones are not getting recognized. We spent 2 months on doing research and it is pretty inconsistent. Finally we moved just to Appium and manually create the scripts which is the reliable solution from years.

Saputra
software engineer in Indonesien
Informationstechnologie & -dienste, 2-10 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen:

Automation Tools that makes newby Automation Engineer can play around like a pro

4,0 vor 9 Monaten

Kommentare: its very easy tools to use especially if you don't have any experience with automation tool. Pretty easy to install and configure so junior team can easily install and create automation for your service (web,api, and mobile). Basically if you are newby once you try this tools your manager or other peers can see you like a pro.

Vorteile:

- Easy to use because it has feature record and play so no need coding skill to use their feature - Good user interface - No need to worry about web driver like other automation tools - Katalon has feature to support Web , Mobile, API automation testing - It has feature to support Continuous Integration testing tools - It has ability to handle cross browser testing

Nachteile:

- Its use pretty big memory so some times its impact to performance issue (like crash or slow) when run many scenario - only Katalon 7+ version licensed owner, that able to use debugging feature - its limited to Java and Groovy

Adam
Adam
QA Engineer in USA
Medienproduktion, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
Herkunft der Bewertung

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen:

Front end web testing, with ease

4,0 vor 3 Jahren

Kommentare: We have to deploy software to numerous systems, numerous times per month. Katalon offers the flexibility to run some basic sanity checks to ensure our deployments were successful, without a ton of manual testing hours to verfiy.

Vorteile:

Learning curve is relatively quick and easy to get going with your first few basic tests. There is also a lot of documentation out there if you get stuck on something.

Nachteile:

The design is horrible. It feels like interacting with an app built in the early 2000s. BUT, it works well.

Isaac
QA in Spanien
Informationstechnologie & -dienste, 10.000+ Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen:

KS opinion

5,0 vor 6 Monaten

Kommentare: Currently we've implented execution of several SC that must be executed every 5min,each SC has UI tests and Data Base tests.

Vorteile:

Self healing is just great, Katalon testops is really good it has everything a I need all in one platform.

Nachteile:

The possibility of analyzing a report should not be KSE's thing.

Emmanuel
Senior Technical Consultant in Philippinen
Finanzdienstleistungen, 10.000+ Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen:

Katalon is the best Automation tool to use!

5,0 vor 6 Monaten

Kommentare: In the past 2 years experiencing Katalon Studio, Our test cases based on web application were easily managed, automated and matained by the team, even without technical skills required.

Vorteile:

It is easy to use and easy to install. Alao easy to manage when implementing cicd to your project or team.

Nachteile:

It requires you to log online before using it offline

Sara
QA in USA
Computer-Software, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: 1-5 Monate
Herkunft der Bewertung

QA Review of Katalon

5,0 vor 3 Jahren

Kommentare: We've so far had a great experience using Katalon. I'm very excited to introduce it to the company and hope we're able to fully utilize it and keep it around.

Vorteile:

I really love how easy it is to create objects and reuse on multiple sites. The copy/paste/move up/move down options are super easy to use. This makes it easy to maintain our work and make it fun to consistently use.

Nachteile:

Its very difficult to troubleshoot issues. We've started keeping very detailed documentation about which errors may occur and when. If it weren't for that, I'm not confident our QA team would be able to understand how to fix/get past whatever is happening. I would really like to see clearer notes as to why something would be causing an error.

Rishi
Rishi
Sr. Automation Test Engineer in Indien
Verifizierter Nutzer auf LinkedIn
Computer-Software, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: 1-5 Monate
Herkunft der Bewertung

Amazing product for collaborative API Testing

4,0 vor 3 Jahren

Vorteile:

Team Collaboration, Test Management, Code snippets functionality.

Nachteile:

UI could be improved to have less clutter and Test Verification tab should have facility to open in side window for easy code writing.

Souhil
Souhil
Entrepreneur in Algerien
Verifizierter Nutzer auf LinkedIn
Design, Selbstständig
Verwendete die Software für: 6-12 Monate
Herkunft der Bewertung

an Excellent Automation Testing Solution for Everyone

4,0 vor 2 Jahren

Kommentare: It helped me a lot by saving me a lot of time because I do some tasks automation on it and I run some tests to see what's working and what's not.
It's free and easy to use and it's perfect for everyone especially for a small business like me who don't need to have programming skills to runs some web and API tests and do Web Automation.
It's an amazing tool and I hope the Katalon Studio team will keep improving it in the future.

Vorteile:

I like it because It's % Free tool and It's very easy to use with an excellent user interface. It helped me to test some Automation tasks using an Excel spreadsheet and I find it very useful especially the record option because I don't need to code anything I just need to click record and start to do my task from A to Z and after this, I will just put everything into a Loop and all my tasks are fully Automated. It's very easy to use and I saved a lot of time using it because I don't have much experience as a programmer and to get someone to program an Automation tool for your business is very expensive but, with the Help of Katalon Studio now I have the Knowledge to Automate any simple task I have. I run some tests on multi browsers and It's very easy to create cross-browser testing and It allows me to do multi API and Web service testing too. I love when I get real-time reports about the performance of my test so, I can fix the bug without checking everything. I like the pre-installed templates because for someone with a little knowledge of coding I can just use Katalon templates and they get the work done without any problem. They have an amazing support team and a lot of blog posts and question answered on their Community website also, I like when they send me a lot of useful tips and tricks by Email weekly and there's a lot of YouTube Videos about this tool and I learned a lot from it too.

Nachteile:

They can add more features and integrate with other testing and automation tools because this will help in saving a lot of time. They can improve their Recorder tool and they can add more Browsers too.

keith
QA Automations Engineer in USA
Finanzdienstleistungen, 11-50 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: 1-5 Monate
Herkunft der Bewertung

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen:

Makes life easy

4,0 vor 3 Jahren

Kommentare: We have managed to fill in the gaps that Postman has left wide open in being able to share reports with teammates, using BDD/Cucumber in API testing, and being able to integrate with Jira. To be able to produce anything similar with postman would require tons of custom Node.js which would be difficult to use for our less technical team members.

Vorteile:

What I like about this software is the fact that I can perform API, Web UI, and Mobile Applications testing all in one suite. I like the fact that the software is based on Eclipse, Java, and Selenium, and comes with all the drivers ready to go. It makes life easier for me who have to deal with a lot of the more technical components, but allows others on our team, who aren't as technical, drag and drop my scripts using the UI provided. I like the fact that the software encourages the Page Object Model and also makes Cucumber much easier.

Nachteile:

You guys are making improvements on your reporting tool, but it used to be a major headache. Other than that, no major headaches.

Rene
Automation Engineer in USA
Informationstechnologie & -dienste, 1.001-5.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: 1-5 Monate
Herkunft der Bewertung

In Betracht gezogene Alternativen:

Good option for automation

4,0 vor 3 Jahren

Kommentare: Despite I've had to deal with many issues using Katalon Studio, I think it is a great tool with a lot of potentials that need to mature. That's why I bet for Katalon Studio instead of other tools like ReadyAPI.

Vorteile:

1- that you can use cucumber scripts along with groovy for automating test cases 2- Katalon Analytics is great

Nachteile:

1- you can not open more than one project at a time 2- it's very heavy, it consumes a lot of resources. I think it could be improved in terms of RAM and CPU management. 3- katalon analytics needs more improvement, there are some issues in the UI. 4- the logging motor can be better, right now is very unusual if you run multiple test suites at a time with suite collection and try to watch the logs for each and every test suite, you get lost and it's hard to know even when it finished executing. 5- The Katalon Studio UI (at least mac version) it's complicated to use when you create a Request, it's hard to define the variables and params since the components used are very archaic, some time you think you save (according to the common behavior in most of the tool) but you actually dont and lost all changes. That can be improved. 6- The way Katalon manage the project files etc. it's very complicated to deal with those non-sense files (for end user) and the repos, it generates a lot of conflicts everytime.

Monica
QA Analyst in USA
Bildende Kunst, 201-500 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
Herkunft der Bewertung

Katalon Studio, great tool to get introduced to Testing Automation, as well experienced users

5,0 vor 3 Jahren

Kommentare: We had very little test automation in place, and actually was using as an intern till the "purchased" product was up to speed. It surpassed my expectations the more I used it. Very reliable, easy to maintain and update. Was able to build out a decent library of smaller reusable modules, that have greatly decreased the time it takes to create new testcases. It took the frustration out of tool itself, making it enjoyable to work in.

Vorteile:

Very fast to get up and running. Fits a variety level of users, flexible enough to allow advanced users to pretty much setup how they please at the same time enough of all the base needs for the new user. With it being free product, they update it regularly and are very attentive to user requests. Their application is actually fun to use. The setup and options are intuitive. Not hard to figure out how to do and implement even more complex, complicated operations with custom code. Very portable. The install being as isolated from the code, can easily install on another machine, and open project and be running tests, no special build, or install requirements to do this as I've seen in other tools.

Nachteile:

Not a fan of the Object Repository handling, doesn't do well of detecting dupes, can get quick messy if user of the object spy. The code repository integration is basic, the interface to it not very robust. Its scripting language is Groovy, which is not as popular as others.

Ady
Test Engineer in USA
Computer-Software, 10.000+ Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: 6-12 Monate
Herkunft der Bewertung

Katalon - sweet spot for GUI automation

4,0 vor 3 Jahren

Kommentare: We are using Katalon Studio for GUI automation. The tests run quickly, and are heavily customizable past Katalon's own Web UI functions.

Vorteile:

Katalon is easily one of the best open source software tools for GUI automation testing. Its intuitive interface requires a minimal learning curve and with the official documentation online, someone with zero testing/coding experience can write a comprehensive test. Test suites and collections allow enterprise level testing by allowing users to run numerous tests in series or parallel in different browser configurations. If you have some experience as a programmer, Katalon's modularity allows it to be extremely flexible. Programmers can write robust keywords (functions) and classes, that can extend testing functionality. The Cucumber integration makes it easy to write BDD tests. Katalon also allows you to import .jar files to extend functionality making the program even more robust. Katalon also runs its tests quickly and provides users to run tests through command line allowing for Jenkins integration which is necessary for enterprise level testing.

Nachteile:

Katalon is an excellent software, but it is not without its bugs. For convenience I will list them: - Biggest issue is documentation. There is some great official documentation for Katalon, but there is also a lack of basic API documentation. I had to go to a Katalon forum to figure out about object parameterization. Why are the Web UI functions not explicitly documented? The links to the docs I've seen online are all dead. - Issues with building project path/classes: sometimes if you try to write classes and use them in other classes (OOP) Katalon will not recognize the class and you have to restart the program for a clean build. This was most prominent in how the Cucumber tests have to be structured. Feature files and step definitions have to be in specific locations, and there is not really any official documentation for this. - Git integration: While Katalon does come with Git integration, integration is limited to a project scope. If you clone a project through Katalon's interface, it treats the entire repository as a project which is kind of annoying. - Reports: It seems strange that Katalon offers so much flexibility but then doesn't allow users to customize their reports and build them as they see fit. - Object repository: There should be a way to import test objects/have a shared object repository between projects. Can you just put all your tests under one project? Yes, but it doesn't always make sense to do so and can lead to a cluttered project.

EMİNE
software test engineer in Türkei
Computer-Software, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

Useful, Time Saver, Easy to Use, Good UI and the BEST In the Industry of Automation

5,0 vor 3 Jahren

Kommentare: I have been using it for 2 years. It is great to test both my web and mobile projects in the same environment and support with powerful reports. Otherwise, sending the test results to your email address after the test is completed is amazing in reaching each test step on Katalon Analysis Beta. With the Recoder feature, recording and executing the tests provides great convenience especially for regression tests. The interface is very useful. The program is constantly alive and in development. New versions and improvements are available. Automating mobile testing is easy with the Katalon. In addition to the ready-made keywords in your structure, you can define custom keywords and improve your test capacity. I don't think you can find a tool that's free and with these features, it's a great Katalon!

Vorteile:

With advanced technology, high-quality applications are now inevitable. Manual testing of applications also slows down this rapid process. Considering the different factors such as slowness as well as multi-platform support, cross-browser, responsive design and more, an application's manual test may leave you with unexpected complications and extra efforts. So what do we do then? Remedy Automation Tests: Although the automation test may seem to take more time at the beginning, it has proved to be a more effective approach in the long term in terms of both time and resources since the time of the automation solution. In projects that require intensive regression testing, their utility greatly increases. The ability to re-use the established test scenarios by other teammates is also a big plus. Katalon Studio is a program that you can use to test your Web and Mobile applications. Java-based program can use all the features in a free way. You can start using the program without having any technical knowledge. You can create test cases quickly thanks to the keywords in the program. One thing I would like to mention is the Cross Platform feature. The script you write is a program that allows you to test Cross Platform (Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Internel, etc.) without writing additional code. I recommend you to use.The interface is useful, but it has a lot of integration with many systems such as JIRA, GIT, KATALON ANALYSIS BETA. Has a very strong reporting structure.

Nachteile:

I don't think it is very useful for web service and API testing. There may be more browser support. Sometimes you feel helpless when you get stuck somewhere when you get an error as community help is not that strong.

Verifizierter Rezensent
Software QA Engineer in Nigeria
Verifizierter Nutzer auf LinkedIn
Informationstechnologie & -dienste, 51-200 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
Herkunft der Bewertung

Automated Software Testing Tool for non technical software testers

4,0 vor 2 Jahren

Kommentare: We needed a tool that will help us write regression tests within the shortest possible time with the skillset of the testing team and after surveying different tools like it, it was the best choice. We were able to achieve our goal and now we can improve and expand our tests.

Vorteile:

What I like most about Katalon Studio is that you don't need to have programming experience to begin automating software products. It is in my opinion, the best record and play tool out there for test automation.

Nachteile:

It is difficult to use at initial interaction but with regular use of the tool, it gets better. Also, integrating automated tests from Katalon to a CI/CD tool like Jenkins can be a pain and the customer support is not great. You will rely on forums online a lot to sort out the issues you encounter while using the tool. Also, tests are always failing in the headless browser and there isn't enough information to investigate what the problem is.

Verifizierter Rezensent
TEST ANALYST in UK
Verifizierter Nutzer auf LinkedIn
Informationsdienst, 10.000+ Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
Herkunft der Bewertung

“Free Tool, Serves The Automation Needs For The Applications Used at My Workplace”

5,0 vor 3 Jahren

Vorteile:

I started using Katalon Studio a year ago and it serves the automation needs for the applications I use at my workplace. It’s free of cost which is a huge bonus, easy to automate and user friendly. To start with it’s very simple to create a record and playback script which can be edited using a manual and script mode with lots of inbuilt keywords to perform validations. My basic knowledge on Java enabled me to create new custom keywords and methods in Katalon library. I could efficiently use the Built in reports to consolidate the test results. Data driven testing support helped to cover all possible test scenarios. I managed to use the Integrations with JIRA which worked perfectly fine and saved a lot of time for documenting test evidences and integration with GIT served the script version control. Joining the Katalon Community was very helpful to get online support and obtain solutions to my queries using this forum. The community is open to suggestions and they do consider the required improvements to incorporate in the future versions they release. I would suggest every user with minimum coding experience give it a try as you do not have to pay any cost and no limited using time

Nachteile:

Every automation tool has some drawbacks, but I managed to nd workarounds for each stoppers. Since Katalon studio is a tool that is still developing, I expect it will be more powerful in near future, supporting more functions and needs of the user.

Paul
Automation QA in Malaysia
Personalwesen, 201-500 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
Herkunft der Bewertung

This is an awesome automation testing tool

5,0 vor 3 Jahren

Kommentare: - I use it for the system testing, and it suit for all my needs like how I build my own testing framework in eclipse. I started using it since 2018 Jan and I can see the software keep improving the feature and functionality. As my company need to use Jenkins for the build test and this tool fit for my requirement otherwise if I build my own framework will take me longer time only can start the automation testing.

Vorteile:

- The record& playback feature help those QA who doesn't have programming language also can do automation testing. - The object ID changed, immediately all the test cases using the object will get refresh - Object capture can let QA to decide how to navigate to the web element, can have multiple selection by ID,Name,Text,Xpath and so on. If we develop by using eclipse only can have 1 locator at the same time. - Better feature than HP QTP and it's FREE. -Test data can have multiple option like csv,text,excel -Nicer report for all the test suite executed -Allow to import third party library and use it to write the customkeyword in JAVA. -Attached the custom profile use in test suite collection for different testing purposes.

Nachteile:

- A lot of issue found when executed the test in command prompt, because I use Jenkins to trigger the test - The browser driver not the latest in the market - Firefox browser not support the latest in the market. - Although I didn't pay for the support but I hope Katalon team can support /fix the stopper issue raised in the forum within short period.

Kshitija
Software tester in USA
Computer-Software, 10.000+ Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
Herkunft der Bewertung

Great Automation Tool

4,0 vor 10 Monaten

Kommentare: My overall experience with the product is very good, I have explored this tool to the core. it provides you nice reporting format and also you can configure it with jenkins which made my life very easy.

Vorteile:

I would say, this is the best automation tool if you have very least experience on automation testing. with least knowledge on automation, you can start using this tool. It provides you in built functionality to select the xpath of objects which is known as self healing. This feature is a savior if you find difficulty finding xpaths of the objects. It has extensive knowledge base, very nicely maintained by katalon community which will answer most of your questions.

Nachteile:

the only drawback which I have seen so far is that, its kind of slow in performance if your project size is very big.

Akshay
System Engineer in Indien
Informationstechnologie & -dienste, 10.000+ Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: 6-12 Monate
Herkunft der Bewertung

Overall User Experience Is Good And Easy To Use, But Requires Added Functionalities

5,0 vor 3 Jahren

Kommentare: We solved the business problem wherein the values appearing on screen in our scorecard where mismatched with the downloaded excel.
We automated the checking of values in downloaded excel sheets with the values show on screen with Katalon Studio.

Vorteile:

Was able to automate most of the manual testing work using Katalon studio. Thus saving time and efforts and putting those to use in more productive work. The experience was great working on Katalon studio. The frequent updates of the software, the added enhancements every now and then are perfect. Quicker responses is what one can expect. Coming to the tool, its a great tool to work with. To sum up its a great tool which we can employ without any cost to pay for.

Nachteile:

It crashed many times without saving the changes I did. Katalon community can be improved. I strongly felt that it should have a revamped User Experience, in terms of color schemes, ease of use and more shortcut keys to be included. Coming to the technical functionalities in the tool, sometimes while after including certain files from a particular folder, it doesn't appear there directly. We have to refresh the tool. It would be great if the tool had some auto-refresh feature. Sometimes while saving an Object Repository file, even if I save file, I am not able to save file and the changes are lost. I feel that improvements can be made on architecture level to sort out all these issues. The tool should be asset light, means should be able to work on minimum computing requirements.

Mike
QA Manager in USA
Informationstechnologie & -dienste, 501-1.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: 6-12 Monate
Herkunft der Bewertung

Good product and great alternative

5,0 vor 3 Jahren

Kommentare: Overall the tool has many good functions and capabilities. Pros, outweigh cons in a major way.
Pricing structure and support is excellent.

Vorteile:

Somewhat easy to get started (see cons), Git integration, beginner and expert modes. Ability to export and continue with other IDEs if desired to go outside of the tool (not locked in to it forever). Plenty of information on the web to troubleshoot and ask questions (unlike our previous tool). May frequent updates and feature releases.

Nachteile:

A little cumbersome to setup all the needed plugins. Until everything is configured just right, you will run in to errors here and there that take time to troubleshoot. Test case navigation/folder structure could use a few more options and customization capabilities to be able to sort things better. Automatic centralized location for code and test case storage (similar to ALM) would be great. Having to commit and pull code each time from different stations is cumbersome. To schedule remote execution you must make sure the machine pulled latest code which is an issue if execution and development PCs are different.

Hari
Test Architect in UK
Informationstechnologie & -dienste, 501-1.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 2 Jahre
Herkunft der Bewertung

True the best test automation tool in today testing market

5,0 vor 3 Jahren

Vorteile:

It is FREE to use. earlier days testers used to develop frameworks using program language like Java, C sharp and etc. This use to take a huge effort and there was no standard in developing frameworks. because of inconsistency in the framework, the main focus of testers uses to go to maintain the framework rather use it productively. Katalon is completed filled the gap in the test automation world. And also, given much more powerful features accelerate test automation development and its usage. The simplicity of the tool. easy to learning. Productivity. knowledge base. It can integrate all CI and CD tools in the market.

Nachteile:

Integration with Zephyr test management on Jira is missing. This is very much required as per Katalon test users. But not sure whey team have not come up with solutions for this. I hope they come up ASAP.

Arthur
Software Test Engineer in USA
Pharmazeutika, 501-1.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
Herkunft der Bewertung

Friendly enough for junior testers and flexible enough for advanced engineers

4,0 vor 11 Monaten

Vorteile:

You're able to start creating UI scripts right away and then be able to figure out how you want things laid out as you go along. To get Katalon to work the way you want, you do have to do a fair amount of customization. By that I mean figuring out how you want to model your tests and test objects, whether it's UI, API, or a hybrid. This may sound bad, but there's enough there to start out with that you're not hindered by initial setup if you're already coming from another tool or similar framework. Groovy AND Java work well in Katalon with Groovy being the main language for scripting. Groovy is VERY forgiving.

Nachteile:

Refactoring is probably my biggest gripe. You can easily refactor variables and shared code in Eclipse, but that seems to be a thing that is missing in Katalon. When it comes to updating test case names or the web objects, those get updated across the board enough, but not when it comes to passing variables and keywords around. The need to customize a fair amount for satisfactory integration with something like JIRA/Zephyr. Updating doesn't always work (I use a Mac). When I start executing tests, there's usually a delay/lag when things actually start or report.

Arun
Automation QA Lead in Kanada
Bankwesen, 5.001-10.000 Mitarbeiter
Verwendete die Software für: Mehr als 1 Jahr
Herkunft der Bewertung

Katalon Studio - Free, Easy to Use, Best UI for Web, Mobile and API automation

4,0 vor 3 Jahren

Vorteile:

Easy to setup Easy to use UI - Objecy Spy, Recorder, Keyword and Script view, debugging, Integration with GIT etc.., Easy to learn - Built in keywords, framework, simple external data integration, record and play back Advanced Capabilities - Multi browser, parallel execution, command line execution, record / spy mobile applications, API etc..,

Nachteile:

Newer version of Katalon Studio has moved some of the free features to paid (ex. Jira integration) Capturing objects, scripting and execution time on mobile apps must be improved Multilevel API calls are not efficient compared to tools like SoapUI, Postman etc.. Report cannot be customized Desktop app automation not available